User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    unregistered's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Living for now on a small little red dot
    Posts
    2,657
    GeekBux
    198,414.54
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Default [Review] Panerai PAM 040B (Gen vs DSN)

    I blame milesd for this review. If not for his stunning pictures here of the 040, I would never have gone and ordered one.

    Background, DSN has a new dial, , doesn't he always? Whatever it is, it looks stunning, a huge step up from his previous attempts recently, but, with DSN, get'em while it lasts and he changes again!

    The 040 is a vintage Titanium cased, black dial, solid caseback, manual wind 44mm Luminor Marina watch. The first commercially available Titanium cased watch from Panerai, so basically the grandfather of today's 177.

    As with all my reviews, just follow the numbers

    Front


    1) The first thing that strikes you is that though the shade and shape of the numbers is bang on, the size is off. The gen has thicker numbers and indices
    2) The printing is fantastic, though a little thin. Also, for the very first time, DSN is using an off colored white on his dial, but this is wrong for this model, it should be pure white. Oh, and the A bar looks accurate too
    3) T SWISS T, some have complained about this, not as big an issue for me, the gen has a flat top and bottom T SWISS T, DSN's are rounded. But size and sharpness wise, perfect
    4) CG Pin hole is off, bit too far out and small. First DSN CG that I've had where by it doesn't suffer from a floppy lever. But I'll pop the pin to give it a matte finish
    5) Not so visible here, but the lever tip is very thick on the gen. DSNs have a continuous thin taper.
    6) Not shown, but the crystal has AR. The gen due to it being a B series didn't. Panerai only started using AR on their D series PAMs onwards. However, DSN's AR has improved significantly. Very mild bluish tint and amazing to look at.

    CG Side


    1) DSNs CG is thicker than the GEN?! Its a tell, but for me a good one. I rather have a thick CG than a thin one.
    2) The crystal sticks out a hair's breadth more over the bezel on the gen as compared to DSNs

    Case Profile


    1) Profile of lugs is close, but wrong. DSN's lugs have a distinct hump to them
    2) DSN's lugs also have rounded edges versus the sharper ones on the edge, very pronounced the sanding here
    3) The bezel base is also 0.5mm thicker than the gen, only noticeable here, and definitely not as bad as his older 240 case.

    Crown


    This is the first whereby I can honestly say I have no desire or need to really swap out the DSNs crown.

    1st is a gen 040 crown (measurement is based off an LH crown).

    As you can see, the bevel between the gen and DSN's is close. Hardly any extreme bevel as seen on the stainless steel DSN crown taken from his 201a. Even when the crown is physically thicker, the bevel makes it look visually thinner. For me, this is good enough and I won't be ordering a T48 Ti crown to replace it.

    Back


    This is where all the disappoints come.

    1) Much thicker engraving
    2) Wrong OP number, should be 6510
    3) The 040 was only ever released as a B series. It was a "special edition" of a sorts
    4) Only 200 units were ever released as well.

    Lume


    DSN201a on left, 040 on the right. 1sec exposure, 2mins interval, only cropping done in PS.

    I will admit, this 040 is the least bright of all my PAMs. That said, this is meant to be a tritium dialed 040 that was released in 1998. So I would expect the glow to be more muted. (Lets not discuss the accuracy of a torched 201a ) Further to that, you can see the numbers have a lovely yellow tint to them, giving them a great patina, including the hands, which adds to the character of the watch for me. So I'll gladly sacrifice a bit of lume power for this added vintageness.



    My thoughts


    Titanium watches have very rarely been my thing. I can't handle the extreme lightness of the case, plus the dullness sometimes gets to me. However, I'm enjoying the vintage expect of this piece. The dial is wholely accurate with minor flaws that most people won't be able to call out, the most obvious being the size of the numerals. The crown is fine to me. The crown guard, the most obvious tell on Ti models is accurate, thicker than gen and perfect profile. The only big tell is the caseback. Two options, don't take it off, don't show it to a paneristi or just enjoy. I'll just enjoy it. Most people won't remember the exact specifics anyhow

    One thing to note, Ti scratches easily, I wore it one and you can see a scratch already today... Add to that, I've found with Ti watches, the movement is louder. I can hear the 040 quite clearly, but not any of my other 6497s. With the casebacks off, they are of equal loudness. So one thing to consider as well.

    Overall, a lovely piece from DSN and with this new dial, a real stunner

  2. #2
    Indecisive Watch Owner

    Awards Showcase

    milesd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5,740
    GeekBux
    454,998.48
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    22
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us pennsylvania


    Default

    Didn't you blame me for the 111e too?

    It's a nice watch, so blame me all you want!

  3. #3
    Elite Spartan
    PeteM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    The Boleyn
    Posts
    1,480
    GeekBux
    194,066.20
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    england


    Default

    Thanks mate. I enjoyed reading that.

    Appreciate the time you took to do it.

    Thanks for sharing
    'You know what you can do with that watch? Stick it up your [censored]!' - Alex Burgess


    Le Diable Rit Avec Nous !!

  4. #4
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    unregistered's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Living for now on a small little red dot
    Posts
    2,657
    GeekBux
    198,414.54
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Default

    haha, its a good sort of blame mate

    Enjoying it heaps, the gf loves the lightness of it and I reckon she'll be stealing this piece now and then

  5. #5
    Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Eagle, ID
    Posts
    103
    GeekBux
    8,687.02
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us idaho


    Default

    Top quality review--thanks. Must admit I just love the "patina" of Ti, despite the softness and scratchability; it gives it more character.

  6. #6
    Horologist
    opawlows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4,534
    GeekBux
    258,179.93
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    20
    Country
    canada


    Default

    great write-up, thanks for taking the time to do this!

  7. #7
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    oncyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,411
    GeekBux
    260,455.83
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    canada
    Region
    ca british columbia


    Default

    Awesome review....and awesome watch!!
    Hidden Content

    Hidden Content

    | 061c | 318L | 177J | 247I | Pre-A 001 | 025J | 026K | 03B | 023A | 292K | 205a | 04B | 183G hybrid | 243M | 186H | 390N | 02D | 000N | 218a | 111J |

  8. #8
    Badabing!
    Drhulee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    T.O.
    Posts
    7,235
    GeekBux
    388,724.76
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    23
    Country
    canada
    Region
    uk england


    Default

    Good review, and it's nice to know I've got a couple of accurate B series ti CGs
    WTB: DSN "old turquoise with black sub-dial" 089 dial

    22mm Panerai rounded buckle for 204 Wempe


    I may not be the brightest bulb in the box, but I still stand out from the rest

    They read a bunch of words, I lived a bunch of life .... Jay Z

    * Legal Disclaimer: Any advice I may give, is given as an absolute amateur, and should only be followed if you are desperate and have no alternatives, even then think twice.
    I take absolutely no responsibility in facilitating the destruction of that new watch you just bought, or in causing you to be locked up in a mental institution.


  9. #9
    Elite Spartan
    tk471's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    163
    GeekBux
    24,313.72
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Default

    Looks good. Seems like DSN has improved the manner in which he fills the numerals. Used to be (i.e. on the 82) that you could see the engraving around the lume, and it wasn't completely filled in. This looks good.

  10. #10
    Elite Spartan
    gringo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    MD,USA
    Posts
    188
    GeekBux
    10,764.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Region
    us maryland


    Default

    Nice review! I also have one otw! ( Inspired by Miles and not blamed!) =)

  11. #11
    Elite Spartan
    gringo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    MD,USA
    Posts
    188
    GeekBux
    10,764.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Region
    us maryland


    Default

    Received mine today. Very happy with watch. Dsn new dial is awesome - only if the in dices are a little thicker and the t swiss t is a little smaller it would be perfect. But overall it's a nice piece.It even comes with 2 straps and 2 Ti buckles.
    I will be doing the Oxy bath, removing AR on crystal and will be adding Tcrown. Hopefully FGD will release his preA dial soon then this watch will be money.




  12. #12
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    unregistered's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Living for now on a small little red dot
    Posts
    2,657
    GeekBux
    198,414.54
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Default

    IMO, the crown is pretty decent and doesn't need a T48, but that's just me

    Would the oxybath be needed? Just curious, I thought the color is pretty close and with the oxy bath it kinda gets too dark almost.

    AR for mine yeah will be stripped in time...or not, depends on how lazy I am

  13. #13
    Badabing!
    Drhulee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    T.O.
    Posts
    7,235
    GeekBux
    388,724.76
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    23
    Country
    canada
    Region
    uk england


    Default

    I'm starting to think members have the wrong idea of what the OxiClean method is used for. The whole idea is to use it to make a the Titanium case look more like a Tantalum case - much darker with a blue tinge. But it looks like everyone thinks that it is used to darken a ti case to make it look old. Well, as you may have noticed, I have a fondness fro ti , and have a few genuine titanium watches bought many years ago (one back in the early 90's), and while they do change their colour a bit, not one has become as dark as the "Oxiwash" would make them. Especially when you clean them every once in a while.

    Just do a search for a genuine 036, an earlier ti model than the 040, and you will see how light the case has remained.
    WTB: DSN "old turquoise with black sub-dial" 089 dial

    22mm Panerai rounded buckle for 204 Wempe


    I may not be the brightest bulb in the box, but I still stand out from the rest

    They read a bunch of words, I lived a bunch of life .... Jay Z

    * Legal Disclaimer: Any advice I may give, is given as an absolute amateur, and should only be followed if you are desperate and have no alternatives, even then think twice.
    I take absolutely no responsibility in facilitating the destruction of that new watch you just bought, or in causing you to be locked up in a mental institution.


  14. #14
    Bounced Email

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    42
    GeekBux
    3,832.48
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Hello...
    anybody able to tell me where I can find a buckle like the one shown (TI)??

  15. #15
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    unregistered's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Living for now on a small little red dot
    Posts
    2,657
    GeekBux
    198,414.54
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Default

    They are from http://www.kainheritage.com/ and are bead blasted steel

  16. #16
    Elite Spartan
    jimster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    120
    GeekBux
    18,601.41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us washington


    Default

    Very nice review. I, like the Dr., have a fondness for Ti.
    Jim

  17. #17
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,862
    GeekBux
    135,593.13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Default

    maybe pros like ziggy, flav or vac can thicken those indices and take the dial up a level!

Similar Threads

  1. My 040B completed. I love it!! :)
    By oncyte in forum Panerai
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-10-2012, 09:48 PM
  2. 040B and 172F builds
    By Drhulee in forum Panerai
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2010, 01:06 PM
  3. Replies: 94
    Last Post: 10-20-2009, 09:01 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers