User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 38
  1. #1
    Elite Spartan
    Rwm514's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    60
    GeekBux
    13,452.20
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa


    Default 243 review, Gen vs H vs Noob.

    Background: I bought my gen T-dial 243 not too long ago. I spent quite a while searching for my favorite watch and probably surprising to most of you here I settled on the 243, the I series specifically with the classic strap attachments and the tritium dial, one of 500 in this series. It didn’t take long before I realized that there were very good replicas of the 243 and it really got my curiosity up. A few months later here we are. I really love the idea of having multiple watches and the replicas have given me the opportunity to own them, and try them out. I've tried to show the gen first, the H 2nd and the Noob third in the descriptions and pics.

    Overall: Up for comparison is a genuine panerai 243 I series, a H-factory 243, and a Noob factory 243 V1. All the watches are in excellent condition although kinda dusty and smudged when I took the pics unfortunately. I borrowed a friends camera and it wanted to flash on every shot so apologies for the not great pics. The gen watch is really something special, when I got it my hands trembled with excitement as I first reached for it and picked it up. Hard to describe really or compare.

    Next up was the H-factory. A beautiful watch and very gen like. I showed my wife and a close friend and they were unable to tell it from the gen. The biggest tells for me on the H factory watch upon general inspection is the crown guard pin and the text on the crown guard, I’ll detail that later. Overall I love the H factory watch and have worn it a lot since picking it up.
    The most recent addition is the Noob factory 243. It is also a great watch. The pearl is very different from the other 2 watches but I believe it is similar to the later 243 watches without the tritium.

    Case: I spent a lot of time inspecting the cases of these 3 watches and to be honest they are extremely close. The gen watch has a very beautiful brushed finish which has slightly less polish than the other two watches with the noob being a little closer to the gen. The H is just a tad less brushed/ more polished look than the gen. The Helium release valve is very accurate on both the reps. The contour of the case where it meets the He valve is slightly off of the H factory. I just noticed this today. No biggie, it’s just there. Overall I would say the cases are extremely accurate.


    Caseback: The Gen watch has a beautiful caseback with a shaded engraving. The H-factory watch has a similar engraving but the font seems quite a bit different and the engraving lacks the shaded quality of the gen and really doesn’t seem very close to me. Probably something most paneristi’s would pick up even without a gen watch present. It just doesn’t exude the the quality of the gen. The Noob watch is much closer in that it has a similar shading to the engraving but still not quite the correct font. Noob is better here for sure.


    Crystal: The differences are indistinguishable to me except for maybe the Cyclops. Somehow the Gen watch seems to have a bit more available viewing angle without distortion compared to the reps. Other than that the crystals both seem excellent.

    Bezel: The bezel of the gen 243 could be the best feature of the watch. Bold and beautiful, it almost defines the watch. The gen has a uni-directional 60 click bezel. The gen is nearly perfect but has just a touch of side to side play, it doesn’t bother me at all. The H-factory watch has a great bezel, I’ve looked at it in comparison to the gen many times to try to figure out what is different about it. It is very close but seems somehow more flat and slightly more bold looking than the gen. The gnurls are slightly longer and the flat part of the bezel is slightly wider looking and flatter. Not bad at all but slightly off IMO. The bezel markers are nearly perfect on the H watch and the pearl is very accurate to the T-dial gen. The black marks seem perfect. It has the 120 clicks and it doesn’t bother me in the least, fitment is perfect with no play at all.
    The Noob bezel is very good but slightly off from the gen as well. The gnurls on the side aren’t quite right IMO. The front of the bezel seems very close though. The pearl on the noob is obviously different and I can’t really comment on it closeness to a gen L series watch but it seems oddly flat without any sheen. The Noob has the 60 clicks and has perfect fitment with no play at all. Overall the bezel of the noob seems closer than the H but not enough to bother me.

    Crown: I’m no expert here but they all seem pretty darn similar. The most obvious difference is the closed position. The Noob is pretty far out, the H is a little too far out and the gen is nearly up against the case. Also the noob really gets pushed in with the cg lever and the others don’t have this feature. No big deal to me.

    Crown Guard: The gen has a wonderful CG. I love it. Overall the shape of the CG is excellent on the reps, the fitment isn’t perfect like the gen but pretty darn close. The H watch has a pretty bad font and a pretty bad CG pin. The gen just looks so… gen lol. I’m not sure if the later gen watches look more like the H factory font but it’s possible. Overall this is my least favorite part about the H watch and the one that really gives it away to me, the pin is just wrong, yuck. The Noob watch is a little better in terms of font and CG pin but still off by a ways IMO. The CG lever fitment seems OK on both watches . On the gen it is perfect. On the H it is slightly off with machine marks and wrong shape, and on the Noob, slightly off in fitment but to a lesser extent than the H. Neither of the reps got the shape of the tip right strangely.

    Dial: An important part of the watch! The T-dial gen dial is a thing of beauty. Just perfect really, it is hard to compare with a luminova watch but I will try.
    The H factory has very nice hour markers, the metal surround is very close to gen and the size seems nearly perfect. The font of the 12 and 6 seem good but upon close inspection they are slightly different, thinner, and just slightly off. The L swiss made L is correctly position IMO.
    The Noob watch also has a great dial the bezel markers are not quite as gen like as the H though. The metal surrounds are thicker and not as elegant as the gen. The lume color is very pleasing however not quite a green as the H watch, almost like fresh tritium. The 12 and 6 font seem correct but possibly slightly too bold. The L swiss made L is too close to the 6 on the noob. No big deal.
    Overall it’s a tossup with each watch having its own positives.


    Hands: reps seem very accurate to me.

    Weight and size: Surprisingly they all have different weights. The reps are lighter. H is closer. Caliper testing is identical on all 3 watches.

    Movement: The gen has a nice rotor wobble and I was happy to find out that the reps feel similar. Winding is a bit more refined in the gen. Power reserve seems equal.

    Time keeping: Gen is running 5 secs in 24 slow, never serviced. H is running 15 secs fast as far as I can tell. Noob is running fast as well but I haven’t really tested it yet I can if anyone is interested.

    Lume: This has never been a big deal to me but I think the H is pretty bright, I often notice it in the day time when coming indoors from outside, pretty cool. Noob seems pretty good too, perhaps slightly less than the H but doesn’t bother me in the least.


    Summary: The reps are great watches, I love them both and will be sad to see them go. Honestly even though the H is slightly worse than the noob I love it nearly as well. I hope to keep the gen forever, pass it on to my son. Not sure what Ill do with the reps, I love wearing them without fear of damage, loss or theft. Great watches! I guess the Noob does win my comparison. Hope you all enjoyed it ☺ feel free to ask questions.
    Oh yeah I mentioned my wife earlier, she's a gen and a keeper
    Last edited by Rwm514; 05-06-2012 at 03:05 AM.

  2. #2
    Just mellowing out ...

    Awards Showcase

    R_Squared's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Center of the universe
    Posts
    4,582
    GeekBux
    242,759.46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    19
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new york


    Default

    Thanks for a good comparo!

  3. #3
    Elite Spartan
    zdcf9e9f's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    599
    GeekBux
    133,385.81
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Country
    thailand


    Default

    Nice review!
    Thanks for sharing!
    I have 1 H 243 now. Does it worth to buy a noob in your oppinion.

    Ou

  4. #4
    Elite Spartan
    LSUMaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    200
    GeekBux
    24,313.35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    7
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us michigan


    Default

    Great Review! Thank you for that.

  5. #5
    RG Old Guard Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14,310
    GeekBux
    1,633,543.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    51
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    Great review.
    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

  6. #6
    RepGeek.com Staff

    Awards Showcase

    frogman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,912
    GeekBux
    208,621.80
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Default

    Great review bro. Funny you posted this now. I'm actually thinking about getting an h from one of the TDs.....of course I want a noob but they are sold out. Your review was exactly what I was looking for! Great Job!

  7. #7
    RepGeek Staff

    Awards Showcase

    KrisOK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,170
    GeekBux
    16,800,164.61
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us oklahoma


    Default

    Fantastic review! Thanks.
    I don't do what the voices in my head tell me to do......

    I only do what the voices in my WIFE'S head tell HER to tell me to do.


    <a href="Hidden Content color="#FF0000">Support RepGeek Click here to upgrade to VIP</a>

  8. #8
    Elite Spartan
    paneristi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,368
    GeekBux
    12,516,715.10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    hong kong
    Region
    european union


    Default

    stunning review. You shud deserve an award for this comparo
    Support RG and get
    28888 GB WITH VIP UPGRADE!!!

    Hidden Content

  9. #9
    Elite Spartan
    Meridius's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    398
    GeekBux
    22,987.06
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us california


    Default

    Great review. Thanks for taking the time. The gen is beautiful. Reps amazingly close.

  10. #10
    Inactive Yahoo Emails

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    SG AU
    Posts
    91
    GeekBux
    7,710.41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    singapore
    Region
    au victoria


    Default

    Good review. Frankly, it can be quite difficult to point out some of the differences. They can be darn similar.

  11. #11
    RepGeek Dealer

    Awards Showcase

    torobravo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spain/China
    Posts
    5,671
    GeekBux
    777,101.58
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    24
    Country
    spain
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Impressive. I've missed this. Would like to see that gen :sigh:

  12. #12
    Member
    fna2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    174
    GeekBux
    20,697.48
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    +1

    Quote Originally Posted by zdcf9e9f View Post
    Nice review!
    Thanks for sharing!
    I have 1 H 243 now. Does it worth to buy a noob in your oppinion.

    Ou

  13. #13
    Inactive Yahoo Emails

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    33
    GeekBux
    3,575.49
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Thanks for the very nice review!

  14. #14
    Elite Spartan
    gianton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,207
    GeekBux
    150,030.18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    15
    Country
    greece
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Great review thanks for sharing!

    Here is a GEN 243 with L-SWISS-L dial, for comparison with Noob's pearl:

    Hidden Content
    ... OP boutique back in '84

  15. #15
    Elite Spartan
    Monkeynuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    181
    GeekBux
    21,506.03
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    7
    Country
    uk


    Default

    Bravo thank you so much for this

  16. #16
    Elite Spartan
    raywj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    584
    GeekBux
    202,362.89
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    8
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us california


    Default

    Nice review, thanks for posting it!

  17. #17
    Inactive

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    313
    GeekBux
    37,834.08
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    very nice and detailed review

  18. #18
    Elite Spartan
    Mahler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    infernet
    Posts
    1,399
    GeekBux
    97,942.46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Country
    italy
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Thanks, this is a review very useful!!
    -----------------
    You are looking for a great strap for your PAM, handmade in Italy? Hidden Content !!

  19. #19
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    882
    GeekBux
    96,707.93
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Default

    Thanks for the review! Really really enjoyed it

  20. #20
    Formerly jarnould
    Inushuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    217
    GeekBux
    25,136.83
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    8
    Country
    france
    Region
    european union


    Default

    great review ... Thanks for sharing
    Hidden Content

    Breitling : Super Avenger V3 white Franken, Seawolf V1 Yellow
    Omega : Ultra Franken UPO, Modded Ploprof V2, Sm300 Ultra Franken
    Panerai : Franken 113m,
    Rolex : Modded BP Dssd, GMT II Black, TC Sub 16610LV , Modded BK Sub Shark
    Tudor :Modded 6835 big Crown, Modded BB V1, Ultra Franken Tudor Chrono Prince Date, Franken Blue Snowflake

  21. #21
    Elite Spartan
    Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    3,382
    GeekBux
    253,138.21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default

    Great review!!
    _______________________________

    Hidden Content

  22. #22
    Removed

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tortuga Island
    Posts
    736
    GeekBux
    152,860.85
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    pirate


    Default

    useful thanks!

  23. #23
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    43
    GeekBux
    7,752.64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Great review!!!!!

    thanks

  24. #24
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    115
    GeekBux
    10,486.23
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Amazing, you must receive an award!

  25. #25
    Elite Spartan
    AP_VC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,762
    GeekBux
    363,773.32
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Default

    Awesome review, thanks.
    What strap is on the noob?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers