User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 74
  1. #1
    Super Senior Member

    Awards Showcase

    PolonusTM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,148
    GeekBux
    206,908.45
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    poland


    Default PAM 237 aka The Ghost rep review

    I have the privilege to get this rep as an early tester. Joshua let me know via email about early availability and I pulled the trigger Photos on Joshua site are usually over-photoshoped and it is difficult to judge the watch basing on site's photos quality.

    The PAM 237 was rumored to be repped before new rep of 088. Since the real difference is only lack of silver subdial for seconds - you can imagine the quality of forthcoming 088.

    Pam 237, aka "the Ghost" aka "made for Brad Pitt" etc. was produced only in 400 pieces in H-year (2005). Anyway, it appeared for sale late into I-year (2006), without any kind of previous announcements. Never appeared in any of Panerai sales catalogues. Thus its nickname - The Ghost. This watch is very identical to the PAM 88 except for the fact that it has a black seconds subdial and some minor differencies on the caseback. There were rumors the 237 was originally supposed to replace the PAM 88 but after much deliberation they decided to drop it and just release what they produced. Another common thought was that for some reason Panerai had some extra dials and decided to use them on the 237. Original price was set to $5100. While most of you guys will go for 088 due to its popularity etc I found the lack of silver subdial to be more attractive. The 237 dial seems to be busy but acceptable while 088 silver dial is just that one thing too much I don't know what would be the match of 088 rep silver subdial to the gen one - I think 237 is just on the safe side of this question with it's all-black dial.

    Back to the rep The case seems to be identical with latest PAM 104i from H-maker. The CG looks the same as on 104i. The CG pin needed to be recessed a bit (done with a small press). Crown looks the same as on gen pics. Crown spacing - the same. What is important to notice: the crown is stiff, not wobbly as it was on 104i. Sapphire - as found on 104i. Slightly blue AR looks the same. I think AR is correct for pam 237 dated H and no one can say it is wrong that way - these were the years of blue AR considering sapphires with glued in cyclops. Due to technical difficulties blue AR is to stay with forthcoming rep PAM 088, too. Hence it will be probably I-series or H-series.

    Texts "LUMINOR GMT" and "PANERAI Automatic" are very similiar to the gen photos - white and of almost correct thickness. When comparing 104i and this one - printings are a bit bolder on 237 rep.

    I have PAM 104i from H-maker with a risen cannon pin issue. Since it is bothering me a bit - I was curious about the CP in 237 but, as You can see, it is much more acceptable! My boss sports gen 088 and the CP in not flat with minute hand anyway.

    The lume is superluminova-like (or real one) and there is subtle difference in brightness/shade between dial lume and hands lume. I tried to find this phenomena on gen photos - and indeed, there is such difference visible on some of them - so it is correct. It is not so strong as on sandwich dials but strong anyway. I my opinion, the lume power is the same as on 104i for hands and a tiny bit weaker for dial elements since they are smaller.

    Hands shapes - perfect or very very close to the gen. The hour hand has wide base, as on gen. Proper length and shape of GMT hand. Correct hands stack order as per gen. Numbers on a dial look spot on to the gen, even those ones on GMT scale, close to the bezel. Front view is virtually no different to the gen and that's what matters.

    When I got the watch, I got it with wrong caseback - basically, it was caseback as taken from 104i with production run engravings set to Hxxx/400. I collected some photos of PAM 237's caseback over the internet and sent it back to the Joshua. At first it looked like we all would have to live with wrong caseback but, few days later, Joshua replied again with information that H-maker, apparently due to the complain, decided to make corrected caseback and thus launch of rep 237 will be postponed until they get it right. Now, when the wait is over - we have correct caseback all together (…and I will get the spare) It was an early-stage nitpicking by me but appearently - worked! Anyway, maybe it is great to keep this rep with this wrong caseback - kind of rarity even in rep world

    Due to the caseback mistake - it is not easy to believe they "got genuine watch for this replication"… On the other hand, maybe it was just a stupid mistake by someone - since even if they built this rep basing only on available photos - it was not too hard to find gen 237 caseback images. As I wrote before - dial and hands seem to be well replicated, maybe really from a gen as an example, i.e. 088.

    The watch came with regular rubber strap with polished deployant. The first thing I did was to put this watch on a custom strap with green accents to match the Luminova.

    The movement is an Asian ETA 7750, high beat (checked with Kello app for iPhone), with microregulator and, after some basic regulations, it is approx. +4 secs/day for last several days - so pretty acceptable and will settle itself down in few weeks. When pulling the crown to the day change position, you can set the day normal way while turning it into another direction shifts GMT hand in one hour increments.

    It was fun while lasting - having rare rep Now we have to watch eBay auctions for all the scam using this rep. It is so scary good.

    Now, to the photos:

    Since QC photos were nice enough, I used them for direct comparison:





    The wrong caseback story, original caseback on the left with a gen one on the right:



    The new caseback as available now:



    Unfortunately, what they did was just adding "ocean chronometer". It is a rep, remember

    Then some other, real-life photos Visible dirt and smudges are what they are - just dirt and smudges.








    Front view of H-maker pam 104i and pam 237:



    Lume shot (not easy to take). You can see how many lumed elements exist:



    Obligatory wrist shot:



    And small YT movie. That was a cloudless day so it was not AR fault for such blue reflections

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=yrqvpzdGmyw

    Another movie with Sun-to-dark lume action:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=bqtksMj001I

    I have 111m, 288, 104i and now this, 237h from H-maker and my vote goes to this last one - it is not the best out of the box rep (due to caseback) but most IMPRESSIVE and SPECTACULAR to me, without major tells when observing its front view. And yes, I like these big shining hands
    Last edited by PolonusTM; 10-18-2011 at 12:25 PM.

  2. #2
    Elite Spartan
    Pamdemic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    336
    GeekBux
    29,693.35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Default

    exciting! thanks for the quick heads up
    Pam 2013 Collection:
    01a, 03a, 09a, 005k, 177g, 243l, 082c, 367m, 025a, 202a, 026k, 127e, 176l, 187g, 036b, 040b, 6152-1, 292k
    Rolex 2013 Collection:
    Milgauss GV, Milgauss white, 1680 Submariner, 1601 DJ
    Retired:
    186h, 188h, 320l, 29m

    I love watches; gens, reps, and frankens are welcome in my home

  3. #3
    Elite Spartan
    PLOPROFCOMEX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    FIRENZE - ITALY
    Posts
    3,542
    GeekBux
    270,338.12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16
    Country
    italy


    Default

    Great review and, all things considered, a great watch
    Thanks for doing this - A LOT of geeks are "Ghosthunters"
    cuscochris:D

  4. #4
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    971
    GeekBux
    108,842.05
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Default

    I have it aswell been wearing it for about a week!!

  5. #5
    Super Senior Member

    Awards Showcase

    PolonusTM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,148
    GeekBux
    206,908.45
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    poland


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hummerboy View Post
    I have it aswell been wearing it for about a week!!
    ..with "original" caseback, too?

  6. #6
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    971
    GeekBux
    108,842.05
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PolonusTM View Post
    ..with "original" caseback, too?
    No i need the updated caseback from josh!

  7. #7
    Bounced Email

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    675
    GeekBux
    58,383.77
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    australia


    Default

    woot woot
    that means the 088 should be here soon !!!

  8. #8
    Waitin' is a rep game!
    vootzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    2,377
    GeekBux
    176,089.89
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    15
    Country
    thailand


    Default

    nice score! can't wait to see the 088 tho. shud be awesome!
    "Gen-Like" feel is The New Black!!

    Hidden Content

  9. #9
    Bounced Email

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    675
    GeekBux
    58,383.77
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    australia


    Default

    are these A7750 with GMT reliable?

  10. #10
    Bounced Email

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    23
    GeekBux
    2,026.11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Great looking rep of one of the nicest PAM GMT's

    Carpe Diem

    Cats

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9780 using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Super Senior Member

    Awards Showcase

    PolonusTM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,148
    GeekBux
    206,908.45
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    poland


    Default

    NIL8: so far so good. The +4secs/day is stable. I spent about an hour setting GMT hand as mad as possible - still working So, probably, reliable.

  12. #12
    Just mellowing out ...

    Awards Showcase

    R_Squared's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Center of the universe
    Posts
    4,582
    GeekBux
    242,759.46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    19
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new york


    Default

    Looks good! How does the DW look? Is it still recessed like the old 088 GMT? Is the OP number correct for this model? Also, is the lume (when not glowing) greenish or milky white in color?

    Is it just me or the DW fonts looks thin in some of the pics above? The initial QC pics show a bold DW font.
    Last edited by R_Squared; 10-18-2011 at 12:36 PM.

  13. #13
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,071
    GeekBux
    99,312.99
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    singapore


    Default

    Might be me but in e comparison shot of e luminova colours in daylight, e rep still looks a lil greenish.? But wow! Amazing rep!

    Oh yes, how's e D/W.?

  14. #14
    Super Senior Member

    Awards Showcase

    PolonusTM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,148
    GeekBux
    206,908.45
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    poland


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by R_Squared View Post
    Looks good! How does the DW look? Is it still recessed like the old 088 GMT? Is the OP number correct for this model? Also, is the lume (when not glowing) greenish or milky white in color?

    Is it just me or the DW fonts looks thin in some of the pics above? The initial QC pics show a bold DW font.
    When you take the watch from dark to mildly lighted room - the lume is more like a grey milk than green. But it takes just few moments for lume to start glowing green.

    About the date wheel - recessed the same as it is on 104i - not as much recessed when compared to old 088 rep. Date font - bold, the same as for 104i.

  15. #15
    Just mellowing out ...

    Awards Showcase

    R_Squared's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Center of the universe
    Posts
    4,582
    GeekBux
    242,759.46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    19
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new york


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PolonusTM View Post
    When you take the watch from dark to mildly lighted room - the lume is more like a grey milk than green. But it takes just few moments for lume to start glowing green.

    About the date wheel - recessed the same as it is on 104i - not as much recessed when compared to old 088 rep. Date font - bold, the same as for 104i.
    Thanks bro. Sounds like they have at least improved the DW plaguing the old ultimate 088. The lume glow sounds about right compared to my old gen 088G. I don't have it anymore - but I do remember the milky white lume that glows slightly lime green after just a few seconds outside.

  16. #16
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    sefl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    860
    GeekBux
    104,120.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us florida


    Default

    Wow, very nicely written review!
    Gen: Rolex Oysterquartz 17000 |
    About 150+ Hidden Content Watches (the Oldest/Largest Collection on the Web)
    Rep: Cartier Roadster S "Ultimate"
    JLC Master Diver | Panerai 005K | Gucci iGucci

  17. #17
    Super Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    16,847
    GeekBux
    312,875.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    ordered.

  18. #18
    Bounced Email

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    842
    GeekBux
    58,172.84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Great job, thx for the review.
    Reps:
    GST Ti
    Slevin franken
    BCE franken (in progress)
    Sinn U1
    Pam 250 oldschool ETA 7753
    Seamaster chrono oldschool
    Pam 288

  19. #19
    we surf.
    pau hana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    808 | 212
    Posts
    333
    GeekBux
    35,494.60
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us hawaii


    Default

    Whats the easiest way to make the CP flush?

  20. #20
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    882
    GeekBux
    96,707.93
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Default

    could be just me but it seems the crown guard fitment is bad?
    I really do like it besides that.

  21. #21
    Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    495
    GeekBux
    36,411.20
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    8
    Country
    pirate


    Default

    Any chance they rep a Pam297?

  22. #22
    Master Frogman
    solkryssare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,868
    GeekBux
    220,794.21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    denmark
    Region
    se skane


    Default

    Ive always loved this one. Hmmmm........

    Men who guide the destinies of the world wear Rolex watches


    Hidden Content

  23. #23
    Elite Spartan
    Darth-Uli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    358
    GeekBux
    39,517.17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Country
    germany
    Region
    european union


    Default

    A new watch with blue crystal again! Therefore H or I series. When finally comes a watch with date and colorless ar from the factorys? I´m very disappointed...

    Don´t trust something under 44

  24. #24
    Super Senior Member

    Awards Showcase

    PolonusTM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,148
    GeekBux
    206,908.45
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    poland


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth-Uli View Post
    A new watch with blue crystal again! Therefore H or I series. When finally comes a watch with date and colorless ar from the factorys? I´m very disappointed...
    It was mentioned many times: when it comes to sapphire with a glued in cyclop - the only way to have AR is to have blue one, since colorless requires much higher temperatures when applying. These higher temperatures are too high for glue bonding sapphire and cyclop.

    The gen has cyclop and sapphire cut in ONE piece of sapphire. It is difficult and EXPENSIVE so if you want it colorless - go GEN way

  25. #25
    Elite Spartan
    Darth-Uli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    358
    GeekBux
    39,517.17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Country
    germany
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Yes, Polonus, I know the system.
    But the "ultimate" 088 has cyclop and sapphire cut in one piece of sapphire! I know that, because Uwe from fine_dd has made ar. BTW: Great job Uwe!
    So - but it goes! Why not immediately for 100 usd more?
    Last edited by Darth-Uli; 10-18-2011 at 06:27 PM.

    Don´t trust something under 44

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers