User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    I luv me some SeaDwellers

    Awards Showcase


    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    ND
    Posts
    4,278
    GeekBux
    288,128.02
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    21
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us north dakota


    Post Review - Avenger Showdown Part 2! Seawolf Rep vs Gen *RG Award Winning Review*

    Since the old Seawolf Avenger defeated the new version I have been waiting for the opportunity to compare a new gen Seawolf to the old classic rep version.

    Here is the contender.

    This is a brand new gen Breitling Avenger Seawolf with Professional II Bracelet. I am good friends with the local dealer and get opportunities like this occasionally. He is a good friend of mine and a potential repgeek. He is always astonished at my reps and has been considering a SSD for himself.



    Now the old version of the Seawolf is on the professional I bracelet so I will not talk much about the bracelets for the simple fact that it is like comparing apples to oranges.

    The matchup. My older SW has had the AR coating removed so there is obvious differences in the visibility of the dials. I plan on redoing the AR eventually on one of the next runs.

    I will mention that I did a physical comparison with my SFSO and the SW. Believe this or not but my Steelfish's actually looked better in my opinion. The gen SW had a much more purple tint than the blue of my SFSO. It also was not quite as strong as my rep. Very surprising.

    The matchup * For this review the Gen is always on the left or on top *



    Dial Comparo - Easy to see how much difference the AR coating makes here.

    As you can see the minute and hour hands are very close to the same but the second hand on the gen is longer on the bottom and red paint much nicer.




    Dial Details - I will not spend too much time here because these faults have been pointed out many times my others.

    1. Breitling sign looks pretty close obviously the gen is crisper. Breitling lettering is more scrunched together on the rep.

    2. The date font looks pretty good on my SW till you compare it to the gen. You can see that the gen is centered better and the outline looks much cleaner. You can also see the hour dots are much larger on the gen. They are are also more luminous.

    3. The bottom lettering is the most obvious difference. The font is much smaller and lighter on the rep and there should not be italics on the depth rating either.

    4. Hour lettering again you can see the gen is much bolder and crisper

    5. Here you can see the thickness of the chapter ring. It is much too thick on the rep and causes the dial to be set too deep. This is one of the most noticable differences when comparing the two.



    Bezel differences - One of the areas that the old version shined over the new Avenger was the bezel construction. The gen is even that much better when you see them together.



    Bezel details - The gen bezel has a little gap between the bezel and the case. This makes the rep bezel slightly thicker overall than the gen.

    1. Bezel pearl is definately very close. The differences are not noticable in person.

    2. Here is the biggest fault of the rep. The numerals are not stamped very bold and not deep enough.

    3. Minute marks are very defined on both. The gens are a little wider here.

    4. The gens rider tab does not go all the way down to the bottom of the bezel.



    Crown and Crown guards

    1. Gen crown slightly taller and crown guards have a square cutout compared to the V shape of the rep.

    2. Gen B is much larger. Rep is smaller and does not look correct.



    Side views and overall case thickness.

    The rep seems to wear thicker than the gen. I would say it is because of three reasons.

    Bezel thickness of the rep is more than the gen and this is noticable when they are together. The Breitling bezel is a prominent and very noticable feature of most Breitling watches. The SWs are no exception.

    The rep lugs are turned down more aggressively than the gen. This makes the watch sit up a little higher on the wrist.

    The last reason is because of the Pro I bracelet it smaller and much more tapered than the gen. This give the rep watch head a much more chunky and large feel to it.

    I have actually put my rep on an SFSO bracelet that I have modded. It really makes the overall feeling of the watch smaller. - Picture is below. -




    Here is my rep on the SFSO bracelet.



    One last comparison. Here is the new version Chrono Avenger that I have. I beleive the case is a little closer to matching the dimensions of the gen but still a much inferior watch to the other two.



    In closing the rep Seawolf is a pretty good rep but it does not hold a candle to the genuine article. Eventually I would like to locate a gen dial for mine and have the crystal AR coated. This would really spruce it up a bit.

    The price tag of this gen Seawolf was around $3300 and it is a fantastic quality timepiece with a depth rating equaled by next to none.
    Last edited by Jackjo; 03-03-2008 at 05:56 AM. Reason: more visible title
    Check out my section - Jackjo's Watch Crib

    Click here - Hidden Content

    It has all my Reviews and Mods!!!



    Hidden Content

  2. #2
    Removed

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,618
    GeekBux
    185,177.56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    croatia


    Default

    thank you for the great comparison review!

    this is definitely on of my favorite reps...and tomorrow will have it's chance to be on my wrist again after a couple of weeks of rest...

  3. #3
    Elite Spartan
    Father Time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    56
    GeekBux
    4,163.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new jersey


    Default

    I would just like to ad that I have had a gen Seawolf for 4 years as my everyday watch and it is a tank, it is the most amazingly tough watch I have ever had, shooting, diving,sking, it has never failed. yes it cost a bit (I paid 2400 us) but in this case it is really worth every penny. And when it gets nasty looking just give it a brush and it is back to new....

    OH, great write up BTW........

    Last edited by Father Time; 03-03-2008 at 12:43 AM.

  4. #4
    RepGeek.com Staff

    Awards Showcase

    dtan888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA USA
    Posts
    6,617
    GeekBux
    373,777.63
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    26


    Default

    AWesome review Jackjo... Thank you for taking your time and doing this spectacular review.

    Dan
    "If you can't say anythin nice, dont say anything at all"

    "Be nice to others, help one another, have manners and we all will get along fine"

    "Feel free to PM me directly for any questions or suggestions or problem with dealer or if you just want to talk, ANYTHING Hidden Content Hidden Content

    If I dont answer any questions on the forum post please PM me and I will reply."


    Hidden Content

  5. #5
    The Aussie Mod

    Awards Showcase

    louisruby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    10,318
    GeekBux
    32,278,817.59
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    33
    Country
    australia
    Region
    au victoria


    Default

    fantastic, i love comparison reviews. well Done
    Hidden Content

    RubyBean Leather and Steel
    See our products here:
    Hidden Content

  6. #6
    Elite Spartan
    gianton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,207
    GeekBux
    157,987.18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    greece
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Excellent review, congrats m8!
    Hidden Content
    ... OP boutique back in '84

  7. #7
    Slamma-Lamma-Ding-Dong

    Awards Showcase

    hoochman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Great Lakes
    Posts
    3,945
    GeekBux
    250,747.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    20
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us michigan


    Default

    Fantastic review of a great watch. I wonder how leather boots would look on this?

  8. #8
    COME ON YOU GOONERS
    Londonboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Vice City
    Posts
    2,416
    GeekBux
    220,261.31
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16
    Country
    england
    Region
    us florida


    Default

    Great review Jackjo. Brilliant pics also.

  9. #9
    Removed

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    46
    GeekBux
    2,475.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    sweet

  10. #10
    I luv me some SeaDwellers

    Awards Showcase


    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    ND
    Posts
    4,278
    GeekBux
    288,128.02
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    21
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us north dakota


    Default

    Wow this is an old review. I wish they would re-release the Chrono Avenger in Titanium. One of the coolest Breitling of all time IMO.
    Check out my section - Jackjo's Watch Crib

    Click here - Hidden Content

    It has all my Reviews and Mods!!!



    Hidden Content

  11. #11
    Legendary Old School Geek

    Awards Showcase

    SFA437's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Baghdad / Long Island
    Posts
    13,603
    GeekBux
    876,687.11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    39
    Country
    iraq
    Region
    us new york


    Default

    Noob necroposting to hit 100 posts actually brought up a GREAT post

    I'm with you on the Ti Chrono Avenger. Wish they would reissue that and a Ti Seawolf with the correct caseback!
    Vpnum snum skala mar velli feti ganga framar
    v at vist er at vita nr verr vegum ti geirs um rf guma
    - Havamal 38

  12. #12
    RepGeek.com Staff

    Awards Showcase

    wimpie007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    3,211
    GeekBux
    27,701,246.49
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    279 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    21
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SFA437 View Post
    Noob necroposting to hit 100 posts actually brought up a GREAT post

    I'm with you on the Ti Chrono Avenger. Wish they would reissue that and a Ti Seawolf with the correct caseback!
    Hehe i see the noob has removed under his name now ;-)

    Yeah this was a great rep! They pop up now and again and are useally sold in a few hours

  13. #13
    Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    107
    GeekBux
    17,271.72
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    uk


    Default

    thanks for your time

  14. #14
    New Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    18
    GeekBux
    4,233.32
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Nice review. One of my favorites...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-24-2016, 02:29 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-31-2011, 04:41 PM
  3. Breitling Seawolf Review *RepGeek Award Winning Post*
    By b16a2 in forum General Watch Reviews
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 03:37 PM
  4. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-29-2010, 02:47 AM
  5. Replies: 94
    Last Post: 10-20-2009, 10:01 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers