User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Elite Spartan
    hdom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,350
    GeekBux
    72,709.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13
    Country
    canada
    Region
    ca alberta


    Default Lum-Tec Bull45 A5 Quick Out of Box Review

    Well, after what seemed like forever waiting for this BR01 inspired piece since I reserved it with Chris earlier, the A5 is finally here.

    [Edit: Replaced with some slightly better photos and updated comments from a few more days with the watch, which has really grown on me. Loving it.]



    Case & Design

    My first impression was, this thing is BIG. Immediately, I compared it with my BCE which has a similar diameter circular bezel, but the A5 base case is a “square” so the corners increases the overall size. The stealth fighter like PVD coat is done in a semi-gloss/matte finish so it is very nice and smooth to the touch and looks wonderfully industrial like. However, I did notice as a result, it is a bit of a dust magnet. [Edit: Chris mentioned below a cleaning of the silicone should take care of that. I did help with the dust on mine. Thanks]

    This A5 is built like a tank and it looks and handles like one. I was surprised by how much heavier and feels solider it is even compared to my beater, a quartz Porsche Flat 6. It is like you are driving a Hummer H1 one day, feeling like a tough guy and someone pulls up in a M1 Abrams tank next to you.

    Before, I was a bit concerned about the case thickness and how the weight of the watch is going to feel. The square base (minus bezel) measures 8mm (5/16") but unlike the BR01 the case base is curved, so it not only flows pretty well with the rest of the watch design. Despite there similarity in size, the A5 really does wear amazingly comfy, more so than any of the big watch (UPO, BCE, Pam, Flat6) I have. I suspected it has everything to do with the base curvature design, which brings the watch to a closer, more comfortable position. On the wrist, it almost feels like I am wearing a much, much smaller watch.

    The crown and buttons are effectively placed and works so well with the case in person. On the BR01, they tried to make them as small as possible at the 3 o'clock position. It is a very clever solution to place them at the top on the A5, keeping buttons out of the way and definitely adds a unique style to the watch, plus practicality when used as a stop watch.



    Dial & Hands

    Like the BR01, the dial just looks so instrumental, like it was off a plane or the bat-mobile which I really love. The orange lume is what attracted me to the watch and it - didn't disappoint. The orange numbers and makers are bright and very attractive to look at. They are applied thick, creating a bubble rise on the dial, they also shine non-matter which angel you look at them. The rest of the dial printing is nice and clean, even the tiny sec. markers on 3 o'clock sub dial is crisp. Not sure if it was on purpose but the orange on the hour and minute hand seems a bit light compared to the numbers and markers. It is even more noticeable when in the dark.



    Lume & Crystal

    Speaking of the dark, from the official Lum-Tec pictures and the MDV promo stuff I read, I expected the A5 to glow like a torch in the dark. Turns out my expectation may be too high in that regards, since I found that my A5 is only a bit brighter that my UPO. After charging them both below the same light source for the same period of time, the lume glow brightness looked similar on both and they both lasted about as long.

    For those that wondered about it too, only everything orange (minus Lum-Tec logo) have lumenation, white print is just paint, I guess.

    Like the rest of the watch, the crystal is big and sits just a bit above the bezel. It comes with strong AR, along with a highly visible and posh looking purple/blue tint. I couldn't really find a bad angle to see the dial.



    Strap & Buckle

    The rubber strap a good choice for the watch, it is also soft and smooth to the touch. The shape and design is pretty unique and goes very well with the watch. I found that it is a bit thinner that other rubber strap like on the UPO/Flat 6, but a bit thicker but close to a classic Casio G-Shock. Since I have a smaller wrist, the tail of the strap sticks out and the deeping in the back shows, which cheapens the strap look to me. Buckle is nice and big, comes with the same finish as the case.



    Box & Packaging

    The watch came with a standard Lum-Tec box, including warranty card and paper plus instruction on the buttons. I am not going to add more on the box and packaging, just that it is a nice touch to include all that in there. For some reason, perhaps since I am not too faithful on the rubber strap, I really wished it came with an extra strap, something with orange stitching would be killer.

    The watch was shipped in box within box, every layer has either bubble or foam sheet in between. I am also glad that Chris helped with the tax and I am going to leave it at that.


    (Wrist shot)

    Conclusion

    Overall, I am happy with this purchase, my first Lum-Tec. Initially, I was looking for a good BR01 rep but was disappointed to find there is no an "ultimate" version. I think this A5 is a perfect alternative; a genuine - limited edition watch for the price of a rep, comes with unique stylish, quality construction, warranty and great service from an American company. Another bonus is, it wouldn't never ever be called out on. My only wish with this watch is the orange lume was a bit brighter in the dark.
    Last edited by hdom; 08-29-2009 at 03:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    162
    GeekBux
    12,110.87
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Default

    Glad you are happy with your first Lum-Tec. I do agree that it is a bit of a dust magnet though.

    A great watch indeed!

  3. #3


    Awards Showcase

    flavor flav's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    sparta
    Posts
    3,247
    GeekBux
    175,595.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    usa


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stagfan View Post
    Glad you are happy with your first Lum-Tec. I do agree that it is a bit of a dust magnet though.

    A great watch indeed!
    Wipe the case down with a wet paper towel. They are covered in silicone to help keep safe from damage during handling/packaging. It should not collect dust after that!
    ~Genuine Watch Production~
    Hidden Content
    ALL LUM-TEC models Hidden Content

    H3 cannon set. Hidden Content
    Please do not ask for replica work, reluming or mods. We do not offer this service. We offer OEM production services only.

    Hidden Content

  4. #4
    The watch Samurai

    Awards Showcase


    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nawlins
    Posts
    1,824
    GeekBux
    118,207.56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us louisiana


    Default

    Looks great, but I think the subdial spacing is off a bit.
    [CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC][/CENTER]

  5. #5
    Elite Spartan
    hdom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,350
    GeekBux
    72,709.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13
    Country
    canada
    Region
    ca alberta


    Default

    Sorry about the delay if anyone cared... You see everyday I had to wait until the window of either 10:10am / pm to do these shots, so please understand it took a while.

    Anyway, I updated with better photos along with the all important "wrist shot".

  6. #6
    Super Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    16,847
    GeekBux
    312,874.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Just saw this review and this is actually my first look at the Lum-Tec A5. if you like the B&R I really can't see how you could ever go wrong choosing this over a similar priced rep. This is a very nice watch and I'm sure its reliability is top notch.

  7. #7
    Member
    cpark352's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    312
    GeekBux
    90,503.25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us georgia


    Default

    i agree

  8. #8
    Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    295
    GeekBux
    41,739.35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Default

    Batman Returns batmobile!!! CLASSIC!!! Lume shot?

  9. #9
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    106
    GeekBux
    8,075.21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Sweet watch, style is, square.

  10. #10
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    147
    GeekBux
    7,629.38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Nice touch with the batmobile pics.

  11. #11
    Vanilla Gorilla
    blate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    171
    GeekBux
    8,831.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us arkansas


    Default

    I'm waiting for WM9 to rep this watch....jk

    Man that's awesome I want one.
    Last edited by blate; 11-28-2009 at 02:37 PM.

  12. #12
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    chronoluvvv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Southbay ... Northshore
    Posts
    9,161
    GeekBux
    10,808,095.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    38
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us california


    Default

    luvvv that pic with the Batmobile
    so many watches, so little time ... even less money !

  13. #13
    Elite Spartan
    PastorJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    NO. VA
    Posts
    318
    GeekBux
    21,394.10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    usa


    Default

    Love mine!!! I put on a Peace13 strap with a brass buckle and think it is superb. The watch is very comfy as stated in your very thorough overview of the Bull. A great watch imho!!!

    Current Collection:

    Citizen EchoZilla with Suppa Adaptors
    Tawatec Diver

Similar Threads

  1. CF All Black Blue quick review
    By TooCool in forum Hublot
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-04-2012, 01:09 AM
  2. quick teaser of my next review ...
    By bynico92 in forum Discuss General Watch Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 11:35 PM
  3. Quick Winder review
    By pecty in forum Discuss General Watch Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 01:16 AM
  4. A quick review of SUPERMIRROR'S 036 >>>
    By frankt in forum Panerai Reviews and Comparisons
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-13-2008, 03:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers