User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18,360
    GeekBux
    1,948,690.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    81
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default Vintage VDB Watch - Chronograph

    I have had my eyes on purchasing a VDB Vintage Watch Chronograph for a number of years and finally found one on EBay in mid-July 2017 and was the winning bidder at US $1,690. When the watch was first issued they had a list price of about US $4,000 in 2012 before the Euro tanked. I have seen a few listed on EBay thorough the years from a price range of US$ 2,800 to $3,600 and they all sold at that price range. I was extremely lucky to purchase mine for $1,690.

    Below is the EBay listing for my VDB Chronograph.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-VDB-Chronograph-Bronze-Watch-55mm-Green-Dial-/332300636630?hash=item4d5ea951d6%3Ag%3A6xIAAOSwgu9 ZZPIg&nma=true&si=%252FtSb2dSs%252FZW28DSAqqehqlvE z3g%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l25 57


    This is my first review of a watch on Repgeek and unfortunately due to my lack tech ability for how to post pictures, the EBay pictures will need to suffice for now.

    VDB Vintage Watches are based in Erfurt, Germany. Compared to other brands VDB have a pretty low profile and most of their activity is conducted on Facebook. VDB stands for vintage daily beater. Over the last 10 years they have created some interesting models using a range of different materials. In my opinion their most successful creation to date is the rugged bronze Chronograph.

    The VDB bronze chronograph measures a whopping 55 mm x 57 mm x 20 mm, which makes it one of VDB’s largest model to date. Despite its size, it does not wear big on my 7.5 inch wrist. I realized that a timepiece of these proportions will only appeal to a small minority of people. I absolutely love this watch and feel it is clearly designed to make a bold statement. Primarily this is down to the stylish bronze case design with the green dial and orange markers and hands with a green aluminum bezel. My understanding is that VDB only made 30 bronze chronographs. Some of the chronos had a carbon fiber bezel.

    Despite its size the VDB chrono is fairly lightweight and comfortable to wear.

    Aesthetically the design of the VDB Chronograph is mind blowing. The unique patina of the solid Bronze case perfectly complements the green aluminum bezel and dial. My VDB chrono was hardly worn and it had yet to develop a patina as it was stored in a VDB zippered watch leather box case. Over the past 3 weeks my VDB chrono is developing a very nice patina
    I love the square counters displaying the chronograph function. This gives the watch a superb industrial quality and distinguishes it from other chrono watches available on the market. Additional successful elements include bright orange indexes on the green dial and the oversized black crown/pushers. Overall the chunky appearance of the watch is very attractive and highly successful. The orange lume on the dial hands and indices and orange pearl is spectacular.

    Beneath the robust exterior the watch is equipped with a Swiss (Valjoux) ETA 7750. This automatic mechanical movement comprises 25 jewels and oscillates at a frequency of 28,800 vibrations per hour. I have gen chronos with this caliber and found them to be very reliable in general. Functionally the timepiece features hours, minutes, seconds, date and chronograph facility. The watch has a one-directional green aluminum bezel and is water resistant to a depth of 200 meters.

    Below is my review of my VDB Chronograph.

    Strap and Clasp and Lug Bars (Maximum 10 points) 3 points


    By far the biggest weakness is the screwed lug bars. The lug bars do not screw in the watch case. The lug bars consist of a big male lug bar which screws into an about 5 mm female lug bar. When I tried to change the VDB brown rubber strap to the green Gunny strap; I stripped one of the lug bars. My watch smith was able to change the stripped lug bar with a “tap in” lug bar which means if I want to change the green Gunny strap the lug bar needs to be tapped out. Subsequently after wearing the watch on a daily basis the other bar that still had the screwed 2 pieces lost the female small piece lug bar and that lug bar was replaced with another tapped in lug bar. I was very lucky that the Gunny strap did not separate from the bronze case. My watch smith has ordered replacement screwed lug bars so I can change out straps.

    In my humble opinion, the VBD brown rubber strap is too thin for a watch of this size.

    The green Gunny canvas strap has yet to grow on me as it gives the watch too much of a casual look which can’t be worn with more dressy clothes. I am in the market for a 28 mm ammo strap and will contact Peter to discuss what type of ammo strap he can make to compliment the watch to my taste.

    The bronze buckle is well made and compliments the Green Gunny strap.

    By no means of my rating of 4 points is related to Peter’s strap making, it is based on the lug bars

    Operations (maximum 5 points) 5 points


    Everything can be set via the crown, very little force is required to change time and calendar date. Crown is a very well grooved screw-down. Push buttons operate smoothly.

    Case (maximum 10 points) 9 points


    The shape of the bronze case is awesome and very innovative with no sharp edges and the green aluminum bezel compliments the green dial very nicely. The watch is water resistant to 200 meters.

    Design (maximum 10 points) 10 points

    In my humble opinion the bronze chronograph case is the best case ever made by VDB

    Legibility and Lume (maximum 5 points) 5 points

    Great legibility with great lume, the orange pearl is awesome.

    Wearing and Comfort (maximum 10 points) 9 points

    Despite its massive size, the VDB chronograph feels very comfortable with the Gunny strap. This watch is not at all top heavy on the Gunny strap.

    Movement (maximum 20 points) 18 points


    Well engineered Swiss 7750 ETA movement with sophisticated co-axial escapement. Finely adjustment for time and calendar date. Movement runs with chronometer level precision with minimal decoration.

    Rate results (maximum 10 points) 9 points

    Accurate rate with very small average deviation, however as expected the performance is somewhat poorer when the chronograph is switched on.

    Value (maximum 15 points) 15 points)

    The price I paid was an absolute bargain.

    Total 88 points.

    I hope my first RG review of a watch was helpful and worthwhile reading.
    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

    Hidden Content

  2. Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post
    Recommend Cubeistan recommended this post
  3. #2
    ALPACALYSPE NOW
    TimemiT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,568
    GeekBux
    450,895.79
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    22
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us florida


    Default

    Good job dude! ... that is one serious slab of bronze!

    I too am suffering from the Photobucket link fiasco
    WTB: GEN PAM 671 Dial, Hands, Date Wheel
    WTB: GEN Rolex GMT IIC or Daytona Stainless/Polished Locking "Rolesor" Clasp

    West of House
    You are standing in an open field west of a white house, with a boarded front door.
    There is a small mailbox here.

  4. #3
    Elite Spartan
    paneristi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,371
    GeekBux
    12,523,919.62
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13
    Country
    hong kong
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Holy cow wow. That's my grail. Is that the one with green dial and carbon bezel???

    pix please
    Support RG and get
    28888 GB WITH VIP UPGRADE!!!

    Hidden Content

  5. #4
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18,360
    GeekBux
    1,948,690.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    81
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paneristi View Post
    Holy cow wow. That's my grail. Is that the one with green dial and carbon bezel???

    pix please
    Green dial with green aluminum bezel.

    Pictures are in the Ebay link I posted above.
    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

    Hidden Content

  6. #5
    Elite Spartan
    paneristi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,371
    GeekBux
    12,523,919.62
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13
    Country
    hong kong
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Thanks. Stunning piece. If you ever want to shift I have awesome watches for trade too. You will not be disappointed I promise ;D
    Support RG and get
    28888 GB WITH VIP UPGRADE!!!

    Hidden Content

  7. #6
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18,360
    GeekBux
    1,948,690.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    81
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

    Hidden Content

  8. #7
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18,360
    GeekBux
    1,948,690.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    81
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    Bump
    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

    Hidden Content

  9. #8
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18,360
    GeekBux
    1,948,690.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    81
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    Bump
    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

    Hidden Content

  10. #9
    VVIP

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,306
    GeekBux
    382,966.78
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Nice one. :-)
    Let know if you'd ever wanna sell. :-D

  11. #10
    Elite Spartan
    paneristi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,371
    GeekBux
    12,523,919.62
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13
    Country
    hong kong
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jakob1 View Post
    Nice one. :-)
    Let know if you'd ever wanna sell. :-D
    I was first
    Support RG and get
    28888 GB WITH VIP UPGRADE!!!

    Hidden Content

  12. #11
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18,360
    GeekBux
    1,948,690.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    81
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    Bump.
    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

    Hidden Content

  13. #12
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18,360
    GeekBux
    1,948,690.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    81
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    This gen continues to get lots of wrist time.
    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

    Hidden Content

  14. #13
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18,360
    GeekBux
    1,948,690.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    81
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    Just picked up this one this week:

    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

    Hidden Content

  15. Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post
  16. #14
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    daytonadragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18,360
    GeekBux
    1,948,690.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    81
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    "Aiyah Panerai, buay beh liao eh lah."

    PM me if you want to sell your Kevin, Ted Su, Wotancraft, Piotr or Simona Straps.

    Strap size is 24 mm and or 26 mm and at least 80mm by 140mm or larger.

    Hidden Content

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-09-2008, 06:10 AM
  2. how to vintagize a watch?
    By bilbobagginz in forum Discuss General Watch Topics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 09:10 PM
  3. My new (old) Vintage VDB Pannys.
    By Virgil Hilts in forum Panerai
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 05:17 PM
  4. Vintage Boating Watch
    By Rizing Sun in forum Gen Watches
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 12:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers