User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34
  1. #1
    IWC Geek

    Awards Showcase

    DVS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    3,686
    GeekBux
    234,064.22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    18
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default Review: Chopard Mille Miglia Gran Turismo XL (grey dial)



    The Chopard Mille Miglia Gran Turismo was one of the watches that got me into the repworld. It was the black dial, non chrono one, with the big 12 and 6 on the dial. But at that moment, I thought it was too expensive.
    Later on my taste changed and I got more into PAM's and Rollies. But then the limited edition with the grey dial came out! And what a beauty it is!

    After a Rally of it's own, my Chopard finaly arrived



    Before we go to the watch itself, what is the Mille Miglia?




    The Mille Miglia (Thousand Miles - pronounced ['mille 'miʎʎa]) was an open-road endurance race which took place in Italy twenty-four times from 1927 to 1957 (thirteen before the war, eleven from 1947).


    1931 Winning car Alfa 8C2300

    Like the older Targa Florio and later the Carrera Panamericana, the MM made Gran Turismo (Grand Touring) sports cars like Alfa Romeo, Ferrari, Maserati and Porsche famous.


    1955, Sterling Moss

    The race was banned after a fatal crash in 1957 that took the lives of driver Alfonso de Portago, his co-driver/navigator Edmund Nelson, and eleven spectators, at the village of Guidizzolo. The crash was probably caused by a blown tire. The manufacturer was blamed and sued for this, as was the Ferrari team, which, in order to save time, had not changed tires.

    From 1958 to 1961, the event resumed as a Rallying-like round trip at legal speeds with a few special stages driven at full speed, but this was discontinued also.

    Since 1977, the name was revived as the Mille Miglia Storica, a parade for pre-1957 cars that takes several days.

    In 1982 the Mille Miglia endurance race was revived as a road rally event. Nowadays,timing rather than speed is of the essence for the enthusiasts from around the world who race their vintage cars, dating from 1927 to 1957. This magnificent parade of classic machines has earned the Mille Miglia the reputation of being the "the most beautiful road race in the world". Every May, Brescia becomes the meeting place for the rich, famous and passionate as they prepare to do battle over 1,600 miles of Italian roads. The event is closely followed by the press and immortalized every year by one of world's most respected photographers, Giacomo Bretzel, whose images so perfectly communicate the intensity, the emotion and the spirit of the moment. For promotions Chopard uses photographs from the event by photographer Giacomo Bretzel.

    source: wikipedia



    Now on to the watch!!

    gen:


    When I first had it in my hands, the engraved plate of the caseback fell off... Seems like someone didn't glue it on properly.. But, nothing that could not be fixed.

    Overall Feeling

    The overall feeling of the watch is great! The AR is good and has a nice blueish tint, but not like a PAM or Breitling Heritage, that the whole dial turns blue.
    It is a big watch (42mm), but even with my 6,5" wrist, it is perfect.

    The Dial
    The grey dial is really beautiful. It is grey, but when the light changes the dial colour turns silverish.
    Even though the dial is quite busy, with the chronos and the big 12 and 6 on the crystal, it is easy to read.
    The text on the dial is sharp, so no problems here.

    After a close inspection, it seemed that the 9 marker wasn't lumed properly and there was some glue on the dial..



    The glue thing can be fixed..

    What cannot be fixed is this:



    As you can see, the chrono rings are some sort of brushed, but they brushed a bit too much...

    The lume is the basic rep lume, but it is ok.

    7/10

    The hands

    The hands are chromed, wich make them hard to read sometimes. Luckily on the hour and minute hand, there a lot of lume, wich makes it easier.

    On my watch, the stopwatch secondshand isn't aligned properly. This should be an easy fix, so no biggie here.

    Another thing I noticed, was that the stopwatch seconds hand, wasn't aligned properly. Again, this should be an easy fix.

    8/10

    The Crystal

    [IMG][/IMG]

    The crystal is sapphire and the quality of the AR is very high!!
    I really like the inverted cyclops. This way you don't have this wart on top of your crystal.

    10/10

    The Bezel

    I think the bezel is the weakest part on this rep. It isn't aligned properly and just looks sloppy.



    As you can see the 110 sits way higher than the 120. Also the words TACHOMETER are almost touching the crystal, while on the other side the number are a few mm of the crystal.

    5/10

    The Case

    It is difficult for me to really comment on the case itself as I cannot compare it to the gen. It looks good to me. The finish is good.

    10/10

    The Caseback

    As I mentioned earlier, my engraved plate fell off.. Not a good thing, but I believe it is an incident. So I won't take it into account.

    The quality of the caseback is amazing. The engraving looks just right.
    To show this, here is a pic of the rep vs gen:

    gen:


    rep:


    As you can see, the engraving on the gen is a bit more crisp, but really, you can't complain.

    9/10

    The Crown

    Again, a picture of the gen vs rep

    gen:


    rep:


    I really can't see any difference here. The crown on this rep is just perfect!
    Also, the CG's look spot on, just as the pushers.

    10/10

    The Strap and Buckle

    The rubber tire strap resembles the old Dunlop tire thread. This is a cool feature and it looks great on the watch and it compliments its racing history.

    The rubber is very soft and anti-dust.
    The vanilla smell that comes of the rubber is also a very cool feature and I get lots of nice comments on that, as you can smell it from quite a distance!

    The deployement clasp works good and feels well made. The clasp isn't like the gen as can be seen on the pics:

    gen:


    rep:


    The engraving on the gen buckle is of better quality and the rep has a button instead of the pin that can be seen on the gen.

    8/10

    Conclusion

    Dial: 7
    Hands: 8
    Crystal: 10
    Bezel: 5
    Case: 10
    Caseback: 9
    Strap: 8
    ---------------
    Overall: 8,1

    The Chopard Mille Miglia has some minor flaws, but overall is a fantastic watch!!

    The flaws are not very noticable and won't get you called out.

    I did not comment on the movement, as I am by far a movement expert. All I can say is, it works great. I have had no issues with it so far

    I hope you guys liked it. I would like to add that all this is my personal impression of the watch.

    Some additional pics



    Last edited by DVS; 07-26-2008 at 09:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    bebenn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4,456
    GeekBux
    244,545.22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    19
    Country
    costarica
    Region
    us georgia


    Default

    Great review Dimer! I've been thinking about this watch...

  3. #3
    Elite People's Champion

    Awards Showcase

    josevancouver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    5,581
    GeekBux
    322,993.99
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    22
    Country
    canada
    Region
    ca british columbia


    Default

    Dimer - impressive review. Reminded me a bit of Seadweller4K's review format which I've always enjoyed. Well done!

  4. #4
    Elite Spartan
    MBinPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Outside Philly
    Posts
    640
    GeekBux
    35,907.89
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us pennsylvania


    Default

    great write-up. I really like my non chrono XL

  5. #5
    Elite Spartan
    mat944's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    719
    GeekBux
    62,978.45
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Country
    usa


    Default

    Great review Dimer! I've often wondered how this watch stacks up to the gen, but I could never find pics. to compare. Any idea on pricing for the gen?
    Hidden Content

    Panerai...
    "It's like children. You can't understand until you've had one."

  6. #6
    AnyThingIsPossible
    collector26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Right here, Right now
    Posts
    2,966
    GeekBux
    157,239.34
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us florida


    Default

    Very well done review with good detail Dimer

  7. #7
    Removed

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    19,483
    GeekBux
    1,009,043.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    afghanistan
    Region
    us virgin islands


    Default

    Very well done Dimer. Thats why this is one of my favorite watcehs. Woot.

  8. #8
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    410
    GeekBux
    20,843.82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Default

    Terrific review. I compared mine with a gen and Frankly couldn't tell the difference. Had them in my hands together and weight was about the same and finish was excellent and comparable to the gen. The back engraving was a little crisper but you'd never notice if you didn't have the gen in your hand as well.

  9. #9
    PhotoGeek Mod.

    Awards Showcase

    jiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,952
    GeekBux
    222,729.60
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Default

    What an awesome review!!!

    Fantastic work, mate~! Very well appreciated~!

  10. #10
    IWC Geek

    Awards Showcase

    DVS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    3,686
    GeekBux
    234,064.22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    18
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default

    Thanks for the kind words guys!
    I really love this watch.

    Quote Originally Posted by josevancouver View Post
    Dimer - impressive review. Reminded me a bit of Seadweller4K's review format which I've always enjoyed. Well done!
    I must admit, he inspired me to write another review

  11. #11
    Elite Spartan
    capice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    lowlands
    Posts
    1,827
    GeekBux
    98,531.64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    european union


    Default

    stunning review m8...see ya in a few hours...

  12. #12
    Member
    cmetalprog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    226
    GeekBux
    16,751.24
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Default

    Thank you very much for this review Dimer , really nice.
    I've got this watch already but it confirms I love it.
    Cheers
    C/

  13. #13
    Elite Spartan
    Dave123's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    13,928
    GeekBux
    743,860.12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    38
    Country
    canada


    Default

    Very well done,Dimer....not a fan of that 12 and 6,but the pics are awesome,thanks for taking the time....
    .


    "Panerai makes a great looking watch...." - Stevie Wonder.


    Hidden Content

  14. #14
    Eva Green's sex slave

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    135
    GeekBux
    7,963.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    uk


    Default

    Very well done.

  15. #15
    Elite Spartan
    gbudhelix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    233
    GeekBux
    12,998.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us california


    Default

    Great review Dimer!

    The non-chono white dial XL was my first rep.
    Cogito, ergo RepGeek

  16. #16
    Elite Spartan
    Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    3,382
    GeekBux
    253,138.21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default

    Give this guy another award!!!

    Very good review Dimer! Should I also go for the grey one or the balck one?
    _______________________________

    Hidden Content

  17. #17
    IWC Geek

    Awards Showcase

    DVS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    3,686
    GeekBux
    234,064.22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    18
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default

    It depends on what you like

    The grey dial is a limited edition and hase that cool engraving and the numbers are on the crystal.

    The black dial has the numbers on the dial and a see throuh caseback. And is not limited (the gen ofcourse )

    The grey dial has a more 3d look and is a very unique watch.
    The black one is more low profile

  18. #18
    Spartan Proprietor

    Awards Showcase

    J-C's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    16,221
    GeekBux
    890,328.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10
    Country
    usa
    Region
    european union


    Default

    fantastic D, what a great job done here.

    Well done - thanks for putting this together!
    Welcome to RepGeek - fun, friendly, flame free and informative.

  19. #19
    Elite Spartan
    Quick Brick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    6,103
    GeekBux
    324,564.24
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    23
    Country
    usa


    Default

    Great Review. I've always heard this was a relly good rep, and now I know why .

  20. #20
    Elite Spartan
    Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    3,382
    GeekBux
    253,138.21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dimer View Post
    It depends on what you like

    The grey dial is a limited edition and hase that cool engraving and the numbers are on the crystal.

    The black dial has the numbers on the dial and a see throuh caseback. And is not limited (the gen ofcourse )

    The grey dial has a more 3d look and is a very unique watch.
    The black one is more low profile

    Thx Dimer now I know what to do ...........

    Cheers!
    _______________________________

    Hidden Content

  21. #21
    IWC Geek

    Awards Showcase

    DVS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    3,686
    GeekBux
    234,064.22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    18
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default

    If it was me (and I have made my choice ), I'd get the grey dial!

  22. #22
    Elite Spartan
    capice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    lowlands
    Posts
    1,827
    GeekBux
    98,531.64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    european union


    Default

    yeah, I want one but Mav was too quick...

  23. #23
    Inactive

    Awards Showcase


    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    198
    GeekBux
    10,069.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    jamaica


    Default

    Great Review. Nice watch.

    Thanks

  24. #24
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1
    GeekBux
    50.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Very well

  25. #25
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    chronoluvvv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Southbay ... Northshore
    Posts
    9,161
    GeekBux
    10,808,095.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    38
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us california


    Default

    thank you for posting ... i luvvv my Choppies a lot

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers