User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Pimp Mac Daddy
    bdocili's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    518
    GeekBux
    34,317.98
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Default PAM 250 GEN vs REP vs REP

    Ok, so my favorite watch is the PAM Daylight. I started with my 196 which I still have and love. Then I got a PAM 250 with the ETA 7753. Love the watch, BUT the Bezel drives me crazy. So...I ordered another PAM 250 with the correct Bezel but it ONLY comes with Asia 7750 (good movement but no 7753). I was ABOUT to embark on a crazy project to merge the two watches together...and I said "The Hell with it....I am going to buy the GEN and be done with it".

    So, on to the comparison and the review. By the way...both Reps come from Andrew. According to him, their are only two PAM 250 makers, so if you own one, yours are the same. The factory that made my 7753 PAM 250 also makes the watch with Asia 7750, but same bezel and other problems exist.

    First Picture. GEN is in the middle. ETA 7753 (called ETA from now on) is on the right and is always easy to tell because I have replaced the strap that was sent with it with this one that more closely matches the GEN strap (white stiching). Asia 7750 (called Asia from now on) on the left (DUH!!!!).





    At first glance, they are pretty good Reps. The only thing that stands out for me is the "2" on the 12 at the top of the bezel. The Reps don't look right. Also, the words LUMINOR PANERAI look really wrong on the Asia because they are WAY too wide.

    Next pictures....close ups of Dials.

    Asia:



    The nice thing about the Asia is that you can clearly see the recessed dials (sandwhich dial). They are hard to show in the picture....but they are pretty easy to see (not as easy as the GEN though) The ETA does have the sandwhich dial, but it almost looks sausage. I will show you in a minute. Back to the Asia.....the Bezel is correct and that is why I bought it. It says TACHYMETER. The 2 looks terrible (way too fat) and the words LUMINOR PANERAI are way too wide. Otherwise, not bad. Like any Asia 7750 Daylight, the Date in the Date Window is too far recessed and can easily be spotted.

    Here is the ETA:



    In this picture you can see the recessed dials...but overall, they can be tough to see. 2 looks better than the Asia, but still does not look GEN. Words LUMINOR PANERAI look better, but are too tall. Date looks much better in the date window...but font is off. Some have changed out the Date Wheel....but I say "What's the point?". Anyone close enough to inspect the font on the Date Wheel can tell that the "2" is wrong. True Paneristi know what the 2 is supposed to look like.

    Here is the GEN.



    See how easily you can see the recessed dials. Check out the 2. The Date is jumping out of the Date Window.

    Next, I will show the Crown Guard and Crown. They are not bad on the Reps.

    ETA vs GEN. GEN is on the right.



    I think the ETA's crown looks very good. The ETA's crown is a tad wider than the GEN, but you can only tell with a true "side by side".

    ASIA vs GEN. GEN on right again.



    First of all, you can see my point in how the Asia has better recessed dials. You can clearly see them in this pic. Regarding the crown...the Asia's crown is way too thin.

    Caseback:

    Here is the Asia caseback


    Very wrong. This is the PAM 196 caseback. The 196 came in the G series with 1200 being made. The 250 was not made until the I series and mine is a J series. J series came in batch of 2100. Also, the BP number (6595) and serial are for a 196. So, very wrong.

    ETA Caseback:


    Also wrong....also 196 caseback except that the maker removed any reference to what series and what number this watch was. All new PAM's have that information stamped on them.

    Box....
    For those who have not seen it....the new Pam's come with a cool strap changing system. You no longer have to unscrew the screw to change straps. They come with a tool that makes it easy...and the boxes are not 2 levels (different than the ones sold by our dealers). Check out two pics to see.

    Watch and Strap Changing Tool


    Rubber Strap and Screwdriver on 2nd level.



    Conclusions:

    I have mixed feelings. First of all, I have given up on any modding to try to make my replica look more like a GEN. You will NEVER fool a true Paneristi until they make the DIAL accurate. But, it is still an AMAZING looking, feeling and performing watch. My ETA will probably live for years and I plan to wear it a lot. Why am I going to take my GEN out every day and risk scratching it. It will come out for special occasions. I like knowing that I have the GEN and I will tell anyone who asks that I am wearing a REP. My GEN will go up in value over time as long as it is kept MINT.

    Questions?

    Update:

    So, after lots of money being spent and a few hours of my watch makers time, I finally made the ultimate rep. He moved the Swiss movement from one of the cases into the other. Here are the pics.





    So, as you can see, you get the nice swiss movement which has the Date Wheel nicely in the front (not recessed like in the Asian) and the Tachymeter bezel (as opposed to TACHYMETRE which comes naturally with the swiss).

    Downsides:
    Date Pusher at 10 o clock does not work. Minor price to pay. THe movement allows it, but this case is not perfectly aligned. It can be fixed, but I have not spent the time trying.

    Cost:
    Swiss 7753 Pam 250: $799 from Josh or Andrew
    Asian 7750 Pam 250: $248 from Josh or Andrew
    New Band with white stitching to match the GEN. $40 (Both Josh and Andrew sell it with the pure Black band, probably because this is what is shown on panerai.com in the catalog pictures even though this is not what comes with the GEN).
    Watchmaker time: Mine charged me $50 even though he now says he would charge a lot more if he had to do it again. It was VERY hard he says.

    Total cost so far: $1150.

    THe only thing it really need now is a Lume Job. The GEN lights up like a Christmas Tree.

    This rep should last a lifetime.
    Last edited by bdocili; 01-24-2008 at 08:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Elite Spartan
    Matty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    329
    GeekBux
    20,381.34
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new york


    Default

    Bdocili
    Great review but you're as crazy as I am. I have a number of PAM peices that I have collected both gens and reps of and value them both. I used to think that I wore the reps so that I wouldn't scratch or damage the gen but even without the ultimate modding, I found that I liked some of the inaccurate characteristics of some of my reps better then what the gen had to offer (slightly thinner case, a little less bling on the polished SS, somewhat smaller profile on the crystal, etc. I even plan to double AR coat a PAM rep or two even though no gen Pam ever did. That's what's so facinating about this hobby. After focused efforts to replicate what some manufacturer does or did, we can actually do one better like we were behind the wheel and make choices that for whatever reason (costs, personal asthetics, etc.) the OEM never did. Enjoy your 250s!
    Matty

    NYC

  3. #3
    RepGeek.com Staff

    Awards Showcase

    dtan888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA USA
    Posts
    6,617
    GeekBux
    355,778.63
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    24


    Default

    Awesome

    Thank you bdocili... great review... and comparison.

    Dan
    "If you can't say anythin nice, dont say anything at all"

    "Be nice to others, help one another, have manners and we all will get along fine"

    "Feel free to PM me directly for any questions or suggestions or problem with dealer or if you just want to talk, ANYTHING Hidden Content Hidden Content

    If I dont answer any questions on the forum post please PM me and I will reply."


    Hidden Content

  4. #4
    Elite Spartan
    capice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    lowlands
    Posts
    1,827
    GeekBux
    98,531.64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    european union


    Default

    very nice review,3 pams close together, you're a lucky person...

  5. #5
    Pimp Mac Daddy
    bdocili's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    518
    GeekBux
    34,317.98
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by capice View Post
    very nice review,3 pams close together, you're a lucky person...
    Don't worry, I can't keep them all. I just can't decide which one to sell. I want the ETA movement with the Asia Bezel.

  6. #6
    Elite Spartan
    gianton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,207
    GeekBux
    150,030.18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    15
    Country
    greece
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Nice review. Enjoy your new GEN!

    I am in the same situation, I like the PAM251 and bought the ETA 7753 but it has quite a lot of flaws... I was thinking to by the Asia 7750 version which is made by a different maker and has better case but the date window is way off and try to have them interchanged by my local watchmaker. But that's not possible by Andrew words. So now thinking in buying the GEN..

  7. #7
    Elite Spartan
    capice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    lowlands
    Posts
    1,827
    GeekBux
    98,531.64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bdocili View Post
    Don't worry, I can't keep them all. I just can't decide which one to sell. I want the ETA movement with the Asia Bezel.
    Not an easy decision,... looking forward to your merging,
    Don't know if that is an easy job.
    Still consider you a lucky man..

  8. #8
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    TXTurbo930's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4,482
    GeekBux
    235,119.93
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    19
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us texas


    Default

    Great Review! Thank you.

  9. #9
    Elite Spartan
    Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    3,382
    GeekBux
    253,138.21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default

    These are the kind of reviews everybody is waiting for!

  10. #10
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    41
    GeekBux
    2,151.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us illinois


    Default

    Wow, great review! Very informative and your comparison is very easy to follow.

  11. #11
    Elite Spartan
    rcrscom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,044
    GeekBux
    68,250.51
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13
    Region
    us florida


    Default

    wow, just found this thread, and the dedication to watch building (that's what it really is,when you break it down) in this forum is amazing to me!

  12. #12
    ****ADDICTED****

    Awards Showcase

    Medenblik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    LAND of the ORANGE & BLUE
    Posts
    23,756
    GeekBux
    1,344,890.18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    58
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us illinois


    Default

    nice pictorial bd

    love the 250
    "It's never too late to be who you might have been"

    Hidden Content

  13. #13
    Repping the (312)
    Rizing Sun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    CHICAGO
    Posts
    1,109
    GeekBux
    66,373.50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us illinois


    Default

    Definitely RG Award material.

    Thanks.

  14. #14
    Member

    Awards Showcase

    OmegaRed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    435
    GeekBux
    46,951.16
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    canada
    Region
    ca british columbia


    Default

    Thanks For The Review!

  15. #15
    ..blind leading the naked
    IndyVader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    685
    GeekBux
    47,136.01
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us indiana


    Default

    sweet

  16. #16
    Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    104
    GeekBux
    6,112.02
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Default

    Great review, it's nice that you had an asian, eta, and a gen to compare with for the review.

  17. #17
    Elite Spartan
    PaulVanDyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    825
    GeekBux
    66,487.81
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us florida


    Default

    Very nice indeed, the date doesn't seem to be sunk all that much

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers