User Tag List

Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,259.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default Review of TAG Heuer Link ladies' quartz


    First I want to say that my fiancee isn't very interested in watches. She doesn't really understand why I spend so much time with you guys here... but of course she considers the hobby ok and harmless. Most guys browse for porn, but we geeks browse for watches. Guess we're all perverts.

    She wears a watch though, a gen Citizen quartz. A watch that she particularly never liked. But, like most "normal" people she didn't really care. It's just a watch, right?

    But... I showed her a few ladies' watch pictures a few months ago, trying to "break the surface"... and asked which watches she'd like. She's just 24 and sporty, so diamond Guccis, Pateks and Rolexes were naturally out of question. Those are for the rich old ladies. Turned out Omega Constellation and some Ebels were "very nice"... but when she saw the TAG Link ladies' model her comment was "Now that's a nice looking watch!"

    She didn't really want a watch, but I thought it would be a nice surprise... and lots of people have asked about ladies' models. And why not review one for the community? So TAG Link it should be.

    I don't know how much advertising and "branding" affect on people's judgment. TAG is heavily advertised by celebrities, and this particular model is promoted by the Hollywood actress Uma Thurman. Perhaps these things and advertising affect people on subconscious level... and perhaps even made my fiancee to choose this particular model?


    To be honest I was a bit hesitant to buy a rep for my girl at first, but then the genuine TAG Link (ladies model) isn't horologically very interesting. It has a standard quartz movement, like many expensive genuine ladies' watches. And to be honest I don't think TAG's (or any other high-end manufacturer's) quartz line is worth the money. So why not get a rep for 1/15 of the price?

    Of course... before my purchase I asked my girl if she could wear a rep. She said yes... and she wouldn't want to wear a $1.4K genuine watch anyway. Once again... "it's just a watch", right? Whatever you do, don't buy her a rep and pretend it's an expensive gen. Just like Kanerich says "girls don't mind reps, but they do mind liars." Well said mate!





    3 months later:

    Narikaa got back from his travels and I went to his photo gallery to see if he came back with some new and interesting goodies (as usual). And bang... there were lots of nice ladies' reps available. Including one good looking and fairly accurate TAG Link. I asked the basic specs, asked Regs personal opinion about the watch I was interested in... and paid for it. After 2 hours it was already posted and I received a tracking number. Everybody knows about Narikaa's flawless reputation, so it's needless to repeat that all here. To make it short: Excellent dealer, lots of interesting and rare models... and fair pricing. That's Reg.


    The first impressions of this watch were positive. Very good quality "feel", excellent bracelet finish, a rotating bezel with an audible click and very sharp and crisp dial print. I think I have developed "an eye" for good reps so I already spotted these things from Reg's sales picture.


    Only the hands and pearl are luminous, not the hour markers. I'm quite sure this is exactly how the genuine is, too.

    The crown isn't a screw-down model and the watch has no quick-set date. This is typical for quartz watches, and it means you have to roll on the hour hand 2 full circles to advance the date by 1 step. Quite annoying but not a big deal, really.

    The pearl is a bit oversized, which wasn't apparent at all, until I took some pictures of the watch. The ladies' watches are SO small... and the oversized pictures exaggerate everything even more. I couldn't find the exact match from the genuine versions. All the genuine pics I found had "metallic" bezel numbers, not black.


    This doesn't mean this watch isn't available with black bezel numbers, I just couldn't find a reference pic. Again, it's almost impossible to find anything other than the factory shots.

    The bracelet is similarly constructed as the gents' model, with oversized fliplock clasp.


    Just like on my gents' model the clasp was extremely stiff and tightly closed. So it needed some fine tuning. I used a nail file to make the iron that locks the clasp a bit thinner. My fiancee is 5'4 tall, 114 lbs girl and her wrist is only about 5'7 - 5'8. Still, the bracelet has a "loose and comfortable fit" with all links intact. If you (or your fiancee) is a bigger lady... or even "midsized caucasian lady" you'd better ask for a spare link from your dealer. I'm quite sure the bracelet has been designed with smaller Asian women in mind.

    The bracelet links were a bit stiff to bend properly, so they needed to be oiled, which always makes wonders. These are standard procedures... and just one reason why we don't pay 15 times more for our watches. Very typical rep stuff that you have to do when you receive a new watch. Other than that... all perfect. Needless to say the quartz movement is dead on accurate.

    As you can see we now have two Link reps in the family.






    EPILOGUE:

    So, the most important question remains: Did she like it?

    Yes, she sure did. I'm sure she couldn't tell the difference between a Casio and Patek Philippe, but she was really happy with her new watch, which was all that mattered.

    And to make this review a bit special I included more pleasant "wrist shots" than usual.

    I hope this "mini-review" can encourage more ladies to buy reps... or guys to buy more watches for their "better halves". Thanks for viewing.







    Last edited by By-Tor; 03-20-2009 at 01:04 AM. Reason: Image host changes

  2. #2
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    GeekBux
    100.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Good idea with a some Lady watches review. Please make more of theese. I have bought two reps for my girlfriend. A Yachmaster and a Omega Constellation both are ok but not super. So it's great with some lady reviews. Thanks.

  3. #3
    Removed

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    19,483
    GeekBux
    1,038,253.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    afghanistan
    Region
    us virgin islands


    Default

    My wife has the Tag Link with Pink MOP dial and she loves it too. I am sure she will like this one as well. Now i just need to show it her.

  4. #4


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,259.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Martinb View Post
    Good idea with a some Lady watches review. Please make more of theese.

    I'd love to, but she doesn't really care about watches (I mean like we do). She still likes this TAG though... and it's been running great.

  5. #5
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    48
    GeekBux
    2,881.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Thanks for the mini review, very nice. Great looking watch

  6. #6


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,259.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Thanks all for the nice comments.

    PS: I replaced two pics & title of the review. I photographed & wrote this review in a hurry back then... and I was never satisfied with my initial shots. I guess it's done now.

  7. #7
    broke repgeeker
    Willy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    188
    GeekBux
    15,895.01
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Default

    that looks way nicer than the datejust i bought my wife. she mostly wears the explorerI now cause of the bigger face but this is one i am considering for her next. Thanks for the great review.

  8. #8


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,259.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Thanks Willy.

    I wonder if Reg can still source these. I think he sold a lot of TAG ladies' reps at one point, but I haven't seen any members' reviews of them.

    Generally, it would be nice too see more pictorials and writeups of ladies' reps.

  9. #9
    RepGeek.com Staff

    Awards Showcase

    dtan888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA USA
    Posts
    6,617
    GeekBux
    370,309.63
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    26


    Default

    Thanks for the great reveiw as always By-tor...
    Same as my wife.. she dont care.. its a watch.....
    So when is the big date ? marrying her, kids etc hehehe

    Its time to get wifey something nice.. maybe this tag...

    Thanks
    Dan

  10. #10
    New Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    21
    GeekBux
    2,286.57
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Don't make my mistakes, friends!!!


    "Same as my wife.. she dont care.. its a watch....." - is in the Past!!

    Now - She is a BIG Fan of Watches - as I am. So, now, NOT all My money goes to My watches!!! Only half of them...

    Don't make my mistakes, friends!!!

  11. #11
    Inactive Yahoo Emails

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22
    GeekBux
    1,100.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Nice reiview. Hot watch and obviously a hot girl too!!!

    Who sells this model? And what's the best place to look for ladies replicas anyway?

    I have been enjoying all these writeups here and RWG. Cheers !!!!!!!!

  12. #12
    Elite Spartan
    SBOB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    361
    GeekBux
    19,934.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Country
    australia


    Default

    narikaa sells this watch...i got one from him before xmas...
    good value, but the band was seized so a bit annoying to resize(some dremel work came into play )
    all good in the end though

  13. #13
    Inactive Yahoo Emails

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22
    GeekBux
    1,100.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Seized? You mean seized by customs?

    Or do you mean sized?

  14. #14
    Elite Spartan
    SBOB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    361
    GeekBux
    19,934.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Country
    australia


    Default

    no as in the screws through the 'link' band were seized, i had to physically break one to remove a link...
    but in the end it worked out suitably fixed....
    well enough for the g/f anyway

  15. #15
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1
    GeekBux
    50.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Newer version comes with screw down crown too.

  16. #16


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,259.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thelawnmowerman View Post
    Newer version comes with screw down crown too.
    That's a good improvement for sure. Without screw down crowns all watches are prone to water damage.

    By the way, I just changed the battery for my fiancee's TAG, 1.5 Euros. The watch is running great after (almost) 2 years now... it has been her daily beater.

  17. #17
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    WESTY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    278
    GeekBux
    42,628.71
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Country
    uk
    Region
    uk england


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by By-Tor View Post
    That's a good improvement for sure. Without screw down crowns all watches are prone to water damage.

    By the way, I just changed the battery for my fiancee's TAG, 1.5 Euros. The watch is running great after (almost) 2 years now... it has been her daily beater.
    My wife is exactly the same - it's just a watch, however she needs a new one and she does like the look of the Tag Link. She's settled on the same version as this but with the white face. My problem is that the photo in Reg's site shows it with black bezel numbers and the white faced gen only comes with metallic bezel numbers. I can't seem to find much in the way of Tag Link ladies watches on the other dealers sites either - Anyone seen a rep with the metallic bezel numbers ?

  18. #18
    Elite Spartan
    Quick Brick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    6,111
    GeekBux
    339,163.04
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    25
    Country
    usa


    Default

    Nice review ... good to see some other womens reviews on here. My wife as the rare bird, does actually care about her watches now. She is more interested in a rep having 'believable quality' as opposed to it being spot-on to gen. Very few guys are that intimate with womens watches and as metioned here, even fewer women are. A pleasant read .

  19. #19
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6
    GeekBux
    697.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    which supplier do i go to, to purchase this watch? Andrew, and josh does not display this specific watch on their sites

  20. #20


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,259.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by teamjacobyllc View Post
    which supplier do i go to, to purchase this watch? Andrew, and josh does not display this specific watch on their sites
    Hey man, did you read the review at all?

    Narikaa sells this, as stated in the article.

  21. #21
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6
    GeekBux
    697.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    OOOPS LOL i clealry missed it....LOL thnx by-tor

  22. #22
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    0
    GeekBux
    1,715.30
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Great review, man! Please more from this...

  23. #23
    New Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    47
    GeekBux
    13,256.22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    very nice review! Thanks for taking effort

  24. #24
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    19
    GeekBux
    5,123.25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Nice review

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers