User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 48
  1. #1


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,246.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default Review of ROLEX GMT Master II 116710 "Ceramic", ETA 2836-2 "Wrong Hand Stack" version



    When this gen first got introduced, I was never fully impressed with it. While I thought it was a good looking watch, I still felt that all the magic, mystique and traditions of the classic red and blue Pepsi GMT were instantly swept away. I might be biased, because everything from 1675 to 16710 are my all-time favorite Rolexes. I love that watch so much that I purchased the genuine article just a few weeks ago.

    My opinion hasn't changed. I actually like the design of this watch, but it's the departure from the classic, legendary GMT that I'm not too excited about. Maybe I'll change my mind when they introduce the classic "Pepsi" model back into the lineup. Just like you can't offer Ferrari with only in British Racing Green, Rolex shouldn't sell a GMT Master without the Pepsi option.



    But besides that, the watch certainly is a good looker and very good replication. This rep has been absolutely all over the place since it was released a few months ago. It is available with the correct hand stack (short: CHS), which means independently adjustable hour hand. Correct hand stack means that the 24h hand is placed above the hour hand. This movement behaves like the gen, and the hour hand moves in one hour increments. But it's also an accident waiting to happen. I have plenty of experience with the CHS, so I decided to opt for the wrong hand stack Swiss ETA movement.

    The wrong hand stack (short: WHS) version is a "faux" GMT movement, and it doesn't operate like the gen. The 24h hand is placed below the hour hand in the stack, and one time during the day the hour hand and 24h hand "meet". This is when the visual problem with the WHS occurs. However, you can set the 24h hand "meeting point" to say, 2am or 3am if it bothers you. Besides this "meeting point" the hand stack is very difficult to detect without a loupe. The small annoyance with the "faux" WHS modification is that you have to set the 24h hand "in sync" manually. This has been covered in this article. I have developed a good trust in this WHS ETA "bastardization", and I can recommend it to anyone (as long as you really get a genuine ETA).

    There is an Asian version of the WHS available too, but the reports of that movement have been less than stellar.



    This watch has been discussed throughly, so I doubt I can bring anything new on the table. My good friend Dan (a RepGeek admin) compared this with the gen here, and that superb comparison pictorial tells you everything you need to know. The replication is excellent.

    The bezel numbers have been improved (they used to be too thick). I'm also very impressed with the dial, which is almost flawless. The Triplock crown isn't perfect (the threads aren't quite apparent enough), but it's very acceptable. Tube looks thick and solid. The 24h bi-directional bezel has a new feature: it moves in one hour increments, and has only 24 clicks. This is perfectly logical for a GMT watch, and definitely a great feature and improvement over the old Master II.



    The biggest flaw on this watch is the non-symmetric rehaut engraving. ROLEXROLEXROLEX should always match with '9, '12 and '3'o'clock markers, and this isn't the case on the rep. The '9 spot is way off target. I find this a bit disappointing, and of course it's not fixable. Big flaw or not... it's another very stupid mistake by the factories. The SELs have been fitted exceptionally well.



    The cyclops magnification also lacks the antireflective coating. Many have applied an AR for their mags, and I'm often amazed how innovative our members are. You can read about Lanikai's experiences with it here and here.

    The bracelet felt really lousy and cheap when I received this watch. But as usual, there's nothing that a bottle of sewing machine oil couldn't fix. I can assure you, after the "oil treatment" the difference is dramatic. Pour plenty of sewing machine oil all over the bracelet middle links, then twist and bend them like a maniac. Then do it again, and leave plenty of oil on the bracelet overnight. Don't even think about skipping this... oiling the replica Rolex bracelet is absolutely essential modification. The bracelet edges should be gently filed smoother as well. bklm1234 has a good tutorial how to do it.

    Polished middle links are a bit "so and so" on a tool watch, but GMT Master has never been a "hardcore tool" like the Sub or SeaDweller, so I think they're acceptable and go nicely with the reflective and shiny bezel.



    The clasp is the same as on the Daytona, so it feels solid and heavy compared to the old flimsy design. The micro adjustment is extremely tricky, because you have to release the adjustment pin from inside the clasp (there are no holes outside). If someone has a good system for it, I'm all ears.



    Is this the best ever otb Rolex replica?

    In my opinion: no. The classic (and rare) black Explorer II (the same base model that was used to build my franken) is still the king, but this and the WM9 Sub definitely take the second place. The rehaut engraving is a small (but fundamental) flaw.

    I received this watch a few days ago, and while I have to admit that I'm still not completely crazy about it, Of course this is an instant replica classic, and me being a GMT-geek it was kind of a "must have" in many ways. Generally I'm not too crazy about plain black & white watches, but I really like the highly reflective "ceramic" bezel and the Daytona clasp. This watch has "grown" on me a little, and maybe it's just a matter of time when it manages to fully capture my heart. But there's no way I could ever prefer this over the classic 1675/16710.

    Thanks to ***Precious Time*** for another flawless transaction and QC'ing this rep for me!


  2. #2
    Elite Spartan
    Dave123's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    13,928
    GeekBux
    779,839.12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    40
    Country
    canada


    Default

    Nice review as always,BT....didn't want to mention it on the forum,might ruin my Breitling image ,but i have considered the CHS version a couple times......figured its the biggest rollie and good looking,should pick one up.....probably will.....

    Thanks for the work,great pics.
    .


    "Panerai makes a great looking watch...." - Stevie Wonder.


    Hidden Content

  3. #3
    Indecisive Watch Owner

    Awards Showcase

    milesd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5,752
    GeekBux
    492,811.04
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    23
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us pennsylvania


    Default

    I want one of these more and more. Now that they've got the thinner numbers on the Bezel I might have to jump on one. I might hold out for better AR on the cyclops (shouldn't hold my breath).

  4. #4
    Addicted to Pams.

    Awards Showcase

    Chris V.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
    Posts
    4,605
    GeekBux
    260,963.83
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    21
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us south carolina


    Default

    awesome review B-T.. I always look forward to your reviews!
    Rolex BK Sub C PBdad modded
    PAM 111M (incomming)
    Movado 800 red dial gen on rubber

  5. #5
    RepGeek.com Staff

    Awards Showcase

    dtan888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA USA
    Posts
    6,617
    GeekBux
    370,307.63
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    26


    Default



    Awesome again and again reviews... Very well written,
    Awesome pictures.. ahh what else is new
    Congratulations on your new gen, you are well deserved that puppy, you have written so much about them, now own 1, congrats brother. and I am still drooling at your new gen.

    see you around buddy,

    Dan
    "If you can't say anythin nice, dont say anything at all"

    "Be nice to others, help one another, have manners and we all will get along fine"

    "Feel free to PM me directly for any questions or suggestions or problem with dealer or if you just want to talk, ANYTHING Hidden Content Hidden Content

    If I dont answer any questions on the forum post please PM me and I will reply."


    Hidden Content

  6. #6
    Good For Nothing....
    macscac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    coeur d'alene
    Posts
    4,634
    GeekBux
    309,836.18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    22
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us idaho


    Default

    good write up
    we much appreciate your time!

    and yes, i am with you, when a pepsi ceramic gmt is released i am in 100%

  7. #7
    Elite Spartan
    brokerzach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    1,728
    GeekBux
    95,377.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Default

    Thanks By-Tor for another excellent read. I have been on the fence with this rep for a while and it looks like I will be picking on up soon, as well nice job on the photos, especially the one with the wood background, it really brings out the watch's beauty. Good work!

  8. #8


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,246.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Thanks all, I really appreciate the feedback!

  9. #9
    New Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    34
    GeekBux
    4,170.60
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    The crystal seems to sit higher on the gen.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    DWSmoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    619
    GeekBux
    38,034.38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us georgia


    Default

    Great review BT as usual I was hoping you would get around to this one! Thansk for your time and effort

  11. #11
    Very VIP Spartan!
    bollobandit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,726
    GeekBux
    189,726.49
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    canada


    Default

    Thank you By-Tor....excellent review

  12. #12


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,246.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xebay11 View Post
    The crystal seems to sit higher on the gen.
    The gen on the picture is the older model (16710). But you're right... the crystal should be a tad higher... but they're very close, as the crystal is lower on the 116710. Check out Dan's comparison review.

  13. #13
    Inactive

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    91
    GeekBux
    5,089.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Another great review Bytor! I just received a GMT II IHS last week and love it.

  14. #14
    Get off my lawn!

    Awards Showcase

    AllergyDoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The high desert
    Posts
    2,650
    GeekBux
    176,340.06
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    18
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us utah


    Default

    Nice review, By-Tor.

    This watch does feel very good on the wrist. It's nicely balanced, like most Rolex. The big watches, Breiting especially, are top-heavy and almost fatiguing to wear all day. Not Rolex, though.

    I'm off to get my sewing machine oil for my BKmariner...
    Sue Lor: All the people in this house are very traditional. Number one: never touch a Hmong person on the head. Not even a child. The Hmong people believe that the soul resides on the head, so don't do that.
    Walt Kowalski: Well... Sounds dumb, but fine.
    Sue Lor: Yeah, and a lot of Hmong people consider looking someone in the eye to be very rude! That's why they look away when you look at them.
    Walt Kowalski: Yeah. Anything else?
    Sue Lor: Yeah... some Hmong people tend to smile or grin, when they're yelled at. It's a cultural thing, it expresses embarrassment or insecurity. It's not that they're laughing at you or anything.
    Walt Kowalski: Right, you people are nuts.

  15. #15
    Elite People's Champion

    Awards Showcase

    josevancouver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    5,581
    GeekBux
    373,632.99
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    24
    Country
    canada
    Region
    ca british columbia


    Default

    Great review By-Tor!

  16. #16
    Inactive Yahoo Emails
    vipermj9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    439
    GeekBux
    30,569.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new jersey


    Default

    By-Tor comes through with another gem of a review

  17. #17
    Pending

    Awards Showcase

    rc42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,966
    GeekBux
    320,791.45
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    24
    Country
    australia
    Region
    uk england


    Default

    Excellent review as usual By-Tor.
    My CHS has now been working for two days which I never thought possible

    I removed the cyclops because I really hate those things but, unfortunately, the vibration from the removal (hammer and chisel ) caused the seconds hand to come off, easy fix though and its OK now.

    I have very carefully adjusted the hour and GMT hand offset with the stepping hour hand feature and hope I never have to do it again.

    The GMT is comfortable and feels very lightweight but I have been wearing a Breitling SA for the last week
    .



    When a member needs help, the RepGeek mods are never far away.....


    Hidden Content

  18. #18
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,177
    GeekBux
    84,082.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Like i stated before!!! This guys makes it SOOOO intresting!!!

    BIG THX BY-TOR!!!

  19. #19


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,246.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Thanks for all the positive comments Gentlemen!

    Appreciated!

  20. #20
    Elite Spartan
    MEYER8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    france
    Posts
    1,839
    GeekBux
    118,681.19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    16
    Country
    france
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by By-Tor View Post
    Thanks for all the positive comments Gentlemen!

    Appreciated!
    you know what you will muss to do!
    continue your great rewiew
    My collection
    some in the garden
    Hidden Content
    SLEVIN IWCHidden Content
    GMTIIHidden Content
    DEEPSEE Hidden Content
    IWC portugese pandaHidden Content
    HBB CERAMICHidden Content
    Navitimer TT Hidden Content
    BlackbirdHidden Content
    TEMPUS HBB Hidden Content
    ExplorerI Hidden Content
    SUB WM9 v2 Hidden Content
    FM CRAZY HOURS Hidden Content
    BREITLING avenger Hidden Content
    MOON WATCH Hidden Content
    OMEGA DRIVER 1928 Hidden Content
    GEN ROLEX GMT II coke Hidden Content
    GEN ROLEX GMT CERAMIC Hidden Content
    WHAT ELSE?
    Hidden Content

  21. #21
    Bounced Email

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    114
    GeekBux
    11,009.62
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us california


    Default

    Great Job Snow Dog.

    My Asian IHS has been on my wrist almost constantly for 2 weeks now since Josh replaced the first attempt. I thought the GMT may have been running slow but its working PERFECTLY now. Of course I dont EVER play with the GMT hand after I set it the first time (thinking about getting a winder for this one) to avoid any issues.

    Great watch. I agree with your review, the rehaut engraving is a fundamental flaw, albiet difficult to perceive without knowing exactly what your looking for and having the watch in your hand. The watch wears great and shows very well. I find myself often polishing the bracelet and crystal with my shirt to keep it shining bright.

    When/If this one dies, I'll be first in line to replace it with a ETA version or *hopefully* version 2!



    Gimme your wallet and your watch....wait...did you just ask me for my watch?

  22. #22
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    93
    GeekBux
    6,126.25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    uk


    Default

    Great read - thanks - i hope it gets your heart !!

  23. #23
    Well actually....

    Awards Showcase

    $~mLuMaN83~$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4,664
    GeekBux
    334,088.03
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    22
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us florida


    Default

    Thanks a TON for this man. Ive been waiting for this one!

  24. #24


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,246.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Beretta View Post
    Great Job Snow Dog.

    My Asian IHS has been on my wrist almost constantly for 2 weeks now since Josh replaced the first attempt. I thought the GMT may have been running slow but its working PERFECTLY now. Of course I dont EVER play with the GMT hand after I set it the first time (thinking about getting a winder for this one) to avoid any issues.
    I seriously doubt setting the GMT hand on the WHS version can cause any issues. It's the independent hour hand on the CHS which is fragile and very questionable.

    I'm not sure what the issues with the Asian WHS have been, but as usual my ETA seems to work flawlessly. In fact I have never experienced any problems with gen ETA whs movements. Never.

  25. #25
    Rogue Spartan
    rigors's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,408
    GeekBux
    96,112.82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Default

    very nice review! thanks By-Tor!

    what do you think of the fatter hands and hour markers as compared to the previous version??
    there are 10 types of people in this world. those that understand binary, and those that don't.

    my gens: PAM 001D | PAM 118F
    my reps: PAM 250 | PAM 312
    reps en route: ROLEX 16600 SSD
    the ever-changing wish list: PAM 275 | ROLEX 1665
    rep stuff thats kicking around my parts box: PAM 111 | PAM 177

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 41
    Last Post: 12-26-2013, 09:35 PM
  2. "Correct Hand Stack" Movement Pics
    By grifter in forum Rolex
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-18-2012, 01:02 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 11:04 AM
  4. Pictorial of the ROLEX "Noob GMT 16710", correct hand stack
    By By-Tor in forum By-Tor's Watch Reviews
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-02-2008, 11:27 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers