User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 48 of 48
  1. #26
    Super Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    16,847
    GeekBux
    499,916.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Thanks for the write up. Good read.

  2. #27
    Elite Spartan
    bluelotus92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    55
    GeekBux
    6,207.82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us michigan


    Default

    Thanks for the deeply comprehensive review of this watch!
    I have been looking at it for a while and can now make the most informed decision!
    Excellent work!

  3. #28


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    304,861.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rigors View Post
    very nice review! thanks By-Tor!

    what do you think of the fatter hands and hour markers as compared to the previous version??
    Thanks man.

    I really like the design of the new GMT in every possible way. Very nice watch indeed.

    But in my opinion, the old 16710 and 1675 are legends. They have the classic Rolex design, and nothing can ever replace the Pepsi. It's such a characteristic Rolex look, and the new one can't quite match that. Just imho.

  4. #29
    Elite Spartan
    fredman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    81
    GeekBux
    4,385.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    south africa


    Default

    wow ....awesome By-Tor

    I am always blown away by the detail of your reviews

    Keep em coming

  5. #30
    Elite Spartan
    hustler's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    628
    GeekBux
    41,267.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Default

    nice review by-tor. I agree that I love reading your reviews to learn a little more on each watch.

    This is a watch I've considered buying some time in the future (whs asian version) and have a question about the whs vs chs.
    On a gen, the gmt hand jumps from hour to hour right? not sweeps the dial like the standard hour hand.
    But by the pictures and the review the whs appears to sweep.
    Is this correct? and if so, is this the fundamental difference between the whs and chs versions?

    Personally, I would 100x rather live with a sweeping gmt hour hand (if its the case that that's wrong) than have the problems I remember hearing about the chs versions.

    Also, you noted that the whs asian's movements have been less than stellar. How so?

    Thanks for any info on this

    Brad

  6. #31


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    304,861.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hustler View Post
    On a gen, the gmt hand jumps from hour to hour right? not sweeps the dial like the standard hour hand.
    No.

    On the gen the GMT hand doesn't move at all in position 2. When you turn the crown anti-clockwise / clockwise the hour hand moves up and down in one hour increments, and the GMT hand stays immobile.

    But when you pull the crown one more time (to the position 3) you can set the time normally (hour and minute), and the GMT hand of course follows and "sweeps" as you described it, keeping it on sync automatically.

    But by the pictures and the review the whs appears to sweep.
    Is this correct? and if so, is this the fundamental difference between the whs and chs versions?

    Personally, I would 100x rather live with a sweeping gmt hour hand (if its the case that that's wrong) than have the problems I remember hearing about the chs versions.
    Read this article. I have explained the operation of the WHS throughly.

    Also, you noted that the whs asian's movements have been less than stellar. How so?
    Members have reported lots of problems with it. Stick with the WHS ETA movement.

  7. #32
    Elite Spartan
    hustler's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    628
    GeekBux
    41,267.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Default

    thanks for the extra info, and also the link.
    TTK has a ceramic gmt that I was strongly considering, until now I read this and you say the asian movement is a no no, he says his is using the 21j hi-beat movement from the noob's.
    For 100 bucks shipped, I knew it was too good to be true

    Thanks for the info again.
    Brad

  8. #33


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    304,861.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Are you referring to this?

    If you are, it's definitely not the same rep as the one I reviewed here. Not even close.

    Another dealer advertised that same one with the words "100% same as the Swiss version". Maybe there is a "Swiss version" of that rep, but the watch in the pictures is NOT the same as this one (which is a HUGE seller and the only good GMTIIc rep around). That one is an inferior copy in every possible way.
    Last edited by By-Tor; 10-19-2008 at 05:55 AM.

  9. #34
    Devils never cry
    DemonSlayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    203
    GeekBux
    12,612.99
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    12
    Country
    uk
    Region
    uk england


    Default

    I'm sure that I read somewhere that these good GMTIIC's are drying up. The last time I asked a dealer for the asian IHS version, he replied 'the factories are out of stock'.

    I'm hoping these are available again soon, I need to get my hands on this one cos of it's incredible build quality.

  10. #35


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    304,861.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    It might be temporarily out of stock, but I doubt it's going out of production, as long as it sells so much.

    Precious Time is still able to source this. That's where mine came from. Have you asked from J&A?

  11. #36
    Elite Spartan
    hustler's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    628
    GeekBux
    41,267.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Default

    By-tor, actually I thought they were the same watch minus the movement difference! lol
    I'm not a rep guru like you and some of the others on there. I have a hard time nit-picking watches people post and saying "oh thats incorrect and should be xxx".
    Comparing (visually) the two the major thing I spotted was the one ttk is selling has pointier crown guards than the one in your post. And of course the movement difference which you have already stated the asain gmt is junk.

    Are there more differences with this watch I dont see that just glare out at you that you wanna share?

    Thanks,
    Brad

  12. #37


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    304,861.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Everything is different. Dial, hands, rehaut, bezel, insert, etc. you name it... completely different rep model. Most likely from another factory too.

    Check this.

  13. #38
    Elite Spartan
    hustler's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    628
    GeekBux
    41,267.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Default

    ah I see. well thanks for that link, that pretty much summed up the differences, and with the pics side by side I can see exactly what was pointed out.

    again,
    Thank By-tor
    Brad


    ps. for 100 vs 300 or however much an eta whs gmtII costs...I'm not sure with those visual faults (for me) I would shell out the extra cash for the more correct version. NOW with the words floating around about them not having reliable movements in them...for me that makes it a very big fault for me. I can live with a 'ticky' 21J second hand but I want it to live!

  14. #39
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,177
    GeekBux
    84,940.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Hi By-Tor...

    When i look at gen pics of this watch and the rep pics i get the feeling that the crown is bigger on the rep then it is on the gen... What do you think? It's maybe in this topic if so i have missed it...

  15. #40


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    304,861.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Crown is pretty much "spot on". If there's a difference, it's very small. Check this comparison.

  16. #41
    Inactive Yahoo Emails

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22
    GeekBux
    1,100.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Just received this same exact watch. Thanks By-Thor for the article it was very helpful. Your photographs are exceptional.

  17. #42
    Inactive
    bambax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    rep republic
    Posts
    114
    GeekBux
    7,092.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Country
    pirate


    Default

    thank you for the write up by-tor very informative
    especially when i just ordered a gmt IIc asian 2836 whs

  18. #43
    Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    226
    GeekBux
    19,390.77
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Default

    thank you

  19. #44
    Franken Collector
    Daytona1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    751
    GeekBux
    159,191.83
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14
    Country
    pirate
    Region
    au tasmania


    Default

    very nice! many thanks for sharing!

  20. #45
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    28
    GeekBux
    7,109.69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    india


    Default

    Hi By-Tor, can you please check the pictures on this link and tell me what do you think about it?

    http://imgur.com/a/MMji4

    Thanks in advance
    Last edited by doubledown; 08-07-2012 at 09:51 AM. Reason: Posting link

  21. #46
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    US of America
    Posts
    179
    GeekBux
    125,375.47
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new york


    Default

    Absolutely love these reviews. They're indispensable, and a good read. :-)

  22. #47


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    304,861.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Pictures back up for this too.

    I guess this is still accurate as the SS version for sale is this one, huh?

  23. #48
    Elite Spartan
    XBMX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    47
    GeekBux
    9,887.80
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new york


    Default

    The 2836-2 ETA is widely used in the rep industry, its generally considered an upgrade when selecting

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 41
    Last Post: 12-26-2013, 09:35 PM
  2. "Correct Hand Stack" Movement Pics
    By grifter in forum Rolex
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-18-2012, 01:02 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 11:04 AM
  4. Pictorial of the ROLEX "Noob GMT 16710", correct hand stack
    By By-Tor in forum By-Tor's Watch Reviews
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-02-2008, 11:27 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers