User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 45 of 45
  1. #26
    Inactive Yahoo Emails

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22
    GeekBux
    1,100.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Thanks.

    I've heard that there are many different qualities of the gold used on reps. Is there any way to determine between them? How many microns of gold do the reps usually have?

    I've heard the 14k gold tone is very different from 18k (That's used on gens).

  2. #27


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,273.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Just a small update to this review: Freddy333 posted an excellent article "How to build nearly perfect 116520 Daytona.

    It's interesting that this is entirely built from the rep parts. Article is on the RWG, and it's now linked into my review (under the last paragraph "ACCURACY").

    Check it out, it's really good writeup.
    Last edited by By-Tor; 02-06-2008 at 08:05 PM.

  3. #28


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,273.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Another update: Ziggys movement review link has been updated. Actually I'm not 100% sure if it's visible to everyone, or only for the RWG supporters. Someone could click this and report back.
    http://www.rwg.cc/members/index.php?showtopic=77690

    Thanks.

  4. #29


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,273.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by czarczar View Post
    I'm a supporter, and I get an unavailable message.
    That article is there, but it looks like mr.T hasn't opened it for the public view yet, and it's only available for us moderators now.

    Thanks for reporting.

  5. #30


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,273.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Okay...the forum upgrades have been finished. Could someone click the link now and report back (again). Thanks.

    Does it work for the supporters and non-supporters?
    http://www.rwg.cc/members/index.php?showtopic=77690

  6. #31
    Member
    cmetalprog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    226
    GeekBux
    16,878.07
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Default

    As usual amazing review by-tor.
    Everything clear , great.
    C/

  7. #32
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    52
    GeekBux
    4,526.69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Being as this thread is pretty old, I thought I would ask about performance/problems w/ the 28k movement on the Daytonas. I have one on order, and was wondering if these things are really dieing after days/weeks? Is this rep getting a bad rep? I can't imangine the manuf. not making a change if these things are dieing so fast after leaving the factory. It's been a year since the start of this thread. Any improvements? Can anyone say theu have had one running ok for quite some time?

  8. #33
    Super Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    16,847
    GeekBux
    486,969.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Great review, very informative. Does make me want one.

  9. #34


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,273.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rolexfan View Post
    Being as this thread is pretty old, I thought I would ask about performance/problems w/ the 28k movement on the Daytonas. I have one on order, and was wondering if these things are really dieing after days/weeks? Is this rep getting a bad rep? I can't imangine the manuf. not making a change if these things are dieing so fast after leaving the factory. It's been a year since the start of this thread. Any improvements? Can anyone say theu have had one running ok for quite some time?
    Many members have seconds at '6 Daytonas that are running, even after years. This replica model isn't new actually, it was introduced at least 3 years ago.

    There are no improvements however, the reliability issues are still there. Unfortunately.

    I talked to Joshua about the idea of making a "frozen" subdial/stopwatch Daytona with an Asian 21J movement, but he said that the factory sells these problematic ones at very fast rate (3000 pieces every month), so Joshua was certain that they wouldn't be interested in the whole idea.

  10. #35
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1
    GeekBux
    50.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Hi guys!

    I'm new here. I'm (finally) about to order a gen Daytona but would like to have a rep as well for those moments I choose to go to some club and practice drinking.

    I've already lost a few (fortunately not this expensive) watches at these occasions for several reasons. With a rep you can still wear a nice watch without risking to loose the precious one.

    Now to my kind of noob questions;

    1. What does run at 6 and run at 9 mean?

  11. #36
    Super Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    16,847
    GeekBux
    486,969.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Thumbs down The real Daytona has a more highly polished bezel, and it slopes at a shallower angle.

    It's actually quite easy to tell the poseur from the original.

  12. #37
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,889
    GeekBux
    151,115.70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Default

    purely from how it looks and feels, would u consider this to be a super rep on par with watches like IWC 3717?

  13. #38
    lol I troll u

    Awards Showcase

    Guanaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sidi Power Plant
    Posts
    4,924
    GeekBux
    308,423.21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    22
    Country
    el salvado


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uhrmeister View Post
    It's actually quite easy to tell the poseur from the original.
    Don't bet on it.

  14. #39
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,889
    GeekBux
    151,115.70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by By-Tor View Post
    3000 pieces every month.

  15. #40


    Awards Showcase

    By-Tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    2,107
    GeekBux
    296,273.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Region
    european union


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCYL View Post
    Yeah, that's a lot. I also wonder if that figure is accurate myself, as we're talking about high-end replica, after all...

    But I believe there's a big market for these watches in Asia... and just think about the population in those countries...

  16. #41
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,889
    GeekBux
    151,115.70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Default

    it's very likely the chances of seeing a rep daytona in the street are much higher than that of seeing a gen

  17. #42
    Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    102
    GeekBux
    14,483.44
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Some really good pics here.

  18. #43
    Elite Spartan
    Champagne InHnad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Upstate NY (close to Lake Ontario)
    Posts
    596
    GeekBux
    95,880.67
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    7
    Country
    pirate
    Region
    uk scotland


    Default

    I know that this is a zombie thread, but have you seen,,in person,mine 50th Anniversary Daytona in ice blue with sun bursting sub dials. The fixed bezel is a dark chocolate brown but it's by far one of the best looking Daytona reps ever built. I bought it and pull it out in Summer's. While the genuine article is Platinum, you will likely be called out by known Daytina fans. Still it looks pretty amazing. My movement works just fine, but I'll keep those 12 extra gears in mind. They did put a bad 18K hallmark on the back which was lame. It doesn't come in 18K white gold. Still if there has ever been a watch that I will eventually tear down and plate it heavily in Rhodium, this is the watch. In due time as separating all the pieces is no easy task and the bracelet, of all Daytonas are not friendly, compared to EZ glide. They are thinner and the clasps don't feel like solid Rolex quality. The bracelet will need a tear down with rhodium and a soft rouge polish and then rebuilt. Until I saw this 50th I was never a fan of anniversary watches. I now own the Omega SMP Bond 50th and I want an 16610 LV 50th anniversary as well.

    They are not common by any means. You will probably more Deep Sea Sea Master Challenge rep watches worn then you will see of these 50th Anniversary Daytonas.



    That's all tapatalk will let me post but I thought we should add to the photos. I wish I had better macros but these were shot on an iPhone 5.


    "What should we start with?"
    "An '82 Margaux."
    "Is it good?"
    "Good? It will make you believe in God!"
    "What should we order?"
    "The '82 Margaux."
    "Is it any good?"
    "So good, it will make you believe in God!"

    Yeah to say I love wine is an understatement. Watches, Motorcycles, Movies and Automobiles…. all run close, as does cooking and food.

  19. #44
    Elite Spartan
    Champagne InHnad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Upstate NY (close to Lake Ontario)
    Posts
    596
    GeekBux
    95,880.67
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    7
    Country
    pirate
    Region
    uk scotland


    Default

    Forgive the finger prints and smudges. This was almost 30 months back.


    "What should we start with?"
    "An '82 Margaux."
    "Is it good?"
    "Good? It will make you believe in God!"
    "What should we order?"
    "The '82 Margaux."
    "Is it any good?"
    "So good, it will make you believe in God!"

    Yeah to say I love wine is an understatement. Watches, Motorcycles, Movies and Automobiles…. all run close, as does cooking and food.

  20. Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post
  21. #45
    New Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    9
    GeekBux
    1,501.72
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Crazy!!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 41
    Last Post: 12-26-2013, 09:35 PM
  2. Review of ROLEX Submariner "Noobmariner" 21J Asian
    By By-Tor in forum By-Tor's Watch Reviews
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 02-11-2013, 01:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers