User Tag List

Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase


    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2,007
    GeekBux
    121,788.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    15


    Default REVIEW - Audemars Piguet ROO Rubberclad


    The Review

    I remember first setting my eyes on the Rubberclad AP ROO and actually enjoying the sight. The contrast of the black rubber with the stainless steel gives it a very rugged look, whilst the lighter coloured subdials give it a slightly retro look, similar to the Navitimer (which I adore) and the porthole shape gives it a really unique look.

    One thread a while ago asked us to put photos of our grail sports watches in there. If money were no object, the AP ROO would be my daily sports watch. Unfortunately, the list price being at approximately $21,000 doesn’t really make that attainable.

    The replica was released and I was stunned. I was worried about the movement, but Francisco and Ziggymeister provided a tear down of the movement. After reading that, I was confident that as long as the watch is serviced, it would make a good daily wearer. You can read Francisco’s write up here and Ziggymeister’s here

    I still can’t quite come to terms with paying $500+ for a replica, so I wrote to ChubbChubb and asked whether he would be interested in providing pictures of his for a review. All pictures have been supplied by CC, so a massive thank you goes to him. Without his assistance I would not have been able to put together a review of one of my favourite watches!


    History

    In 1875, two watchmakers met; Jules Audemars and Edward-August Piguet. They decided to join forces and form the company that we know today as the Audemars Piguet brand.

    Audemars was primarily involved in the technical aspect of the trade, whilst Piguet took to the sales and marketing of their products. Their business was not a success straight away, but in 1889 their “official founding” took place, and they became the third largest watch manufacturing employer in the world.

    In the year of 1889, AP decided to make all of their own components and assemble them in-house. In 1914, they undertook a project so complicated, it took six years to complete. It was released in London in 1920. Unfortunately both founders of the company died before its release.


    In 1928, AP produced the first skeletonised pocket watch.

    AP now continues to produce some of the most prestigious and complicated watches available on the market. It is firmly among the big manufacturers such as Patek and Vacheron.


    Background Information

    The ROO Rubberclad currently comes in two different versions. A black dial with whitish subdials, and a white dial with silvery subdials


    Some people have sourced the bracelet for it to give it a different look. I think it looks great on the bracelet, but it looks outstanding on the rubber….which is my personal favourite for this particular model.



    Vital Stats

    Case Diameter – 44mm
    Case Height – 14.2mm
    Water Resistance – 100m
    Power Reserve – 38 Hours (self winding, 54 jewels)
    Crystal - Flat sapphire
    Calibre AP 2226/2840


    Accuracy to the Genuine

    Front

    The dial layout, and pushers look to be correct to the genuine.

    The word Tachymeter on the rehaut touches the larger minute ticks, whereas on the replica, it is a fraction away from the minute ticks.

    The AP logo near the date display is a fraction too far to the right on the replica (we’re talking fractions of a mm here – only noticeably upon a heavy zoom/under a loupe)

    The numbers on the dial are a fraction too wide, and the markers at 6 and 9 o’clock are also too wide, therefore making it look closer to the subdial itself.

    The wording SWISS MADE is also a fraction too tall.

    Overall, the replication is magnificent. The only way you would tell the rep from the gen would be to have them side by side and to study them under a loupe.

    It is important to note that older models had a silver date surround, and also a bezel where the rubber would peel away easily. Both of these things have been fixed on the latter models.

    Genuine on the left in all pictures

    Back

    The back is very well done indeed. The engravings and brushed finish looks very nicely done.

    I can’t see any flaws. If there are any, they certainly aren’t worth mentioning.


    Other

    Again, the rest of the watch is replicated to a very high standard.

    Due to the different types of movements, the replicas crown is inline with the two chrono pushers. However, on the genuine, the crown is located slightly further towards the back of the case. This is also seen on other watches such as the Breitling Blackbird.



    Conclusion of flaws

    Conclusion of flaws on front
    Tachymeter too far from minute ticks
    AP logo a fraction too far to the right
    Dial numbers to wide (fat)
    Markers at 6 and 9o’clock too thick
    ‘Swiss Made’ is too tall

    Conclusion of flaws on rear
    None that I am aware of

    Conclusion of other flaws
    Crown is in line with the chrono pushers (should be lower)


    Final Thoughts

    The Genuine
    Audemars Piguet is a brand that just rolls off of the tongue so effortlessly. Instant thoughts of elegance and quality come to mind. The Rubberclad is by far my favourite of the AP ROO line. I have never held the genuine, and am unlikely to. However, from my research, I have come to understand that the fit and finish on an AP is second to none.

    One thing I don’t like about AP’s current approach to this line of watches is the Hublot-esque release of many different dial and bracelet combinations. I personally find that this cheapens the brand image of the ROO. However, I guess business is business at the end of the day.

    The Replica

    Here I hand you over to CC to give his thoughts on the AP;

    I am actually pretty impressed with the Rubberclad. Aside from the bezel problem (which pertains only to the Rubberclad), the standard lume and the metal case which needs to be reworked (edges softened, case cleaned and sanded) for a more gen-like feel, the watch is pretty good.

    The case construction is very solid. The differences are very subtle (like the quality of the bezel screws in close-up). Most of the problems on my watch come from the lack of QC that is inherent to the rep world. The rubber strap is excellent (comfortable and picks up no dust at all). The only caveat is the sec@12 movement, which needs a proper service with some graphite treatment (or similar) to make it a solid daily beater.

    My conclusion for the Rubberclad is that at less than 5% of the cost of the gen, it offers maybe 85% of the real deal. That's not a bad ratio IMHO

    Thanks CC, therefore in summary;

    The flaws on this model are minimal. It isn’t perfect, but no replica is. If you want an Audemars Piguet replica, and don’t mind the price, then this is as close to the genuine that you will get. It’s up there in the 90+% accuracy bracket with the rest of the ‘super-reps’. My advice, go buy one now

    Thank you for reading the review


    Closing Pictures




  2. #2
    Bounced Email

    Awards Showcase


    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,105
    GeekBux
    75,572.06
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    canada
    Region
    ca ontario


    Default

    One of the flaws i noticed when holding a gen was the caseback was a lot thinner on the gen than on the rep. That and the crown issue could very well be the easiest tells.
    [B]REPS:[/B] APROO Black Themes, Bell & Ross BR02-92 PVD, IWC Ingenieur, Pam 111M, Pam 029M
    [B]SOLD:[/B] Cartier Santos Chrono, Chopard GTXXL Chrono LE, Breitling BCE Graphite, FM Crazy Hours PVD, Rolex GMT IIc, IWC BP5004
    [B]GENS:[/B]Rolex 116610 Ceramic Submariner, BVLGARI BVLGARI 18k Gold Quartz, Seiko Kinetic Auto Relay

  3. #3
    Elite Spartan
    Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    3,382
    GeekBux
    253,138.21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default

    Nice review b.; keep them coming!
    _______________________________

    Hidden Content

  4. #4
    "retard strong"
    AustinTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4,974
    GeekBux
    260,632.43
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    19
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us georgia


    Default

    Nice review!

    Fugly watch though, IMO. I don't get AP. THey look so goofy.

  5. #5
    Elite Spartan
    mick92627's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    151
    GeekBux
    11,621.61
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AustinTech View Post
    Fugly watch though, IMO. I don't get AP. THey look so goofy.
    Have you worn one on your wrist for a bit? I felt as you did at first, until I tried one on. And from that moment, I was smitten. I think they're gorgeous. I have two APs now, the RBII and the Wempe, but I might have to add the rubberclad to the lineup. The sec@12 issue and the high price are making me hesitate, but what a beauty!

    Thanks for the review.
    Last edited by mick92627; 06-18-2009 at 04:53 PM.

  6. #6
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    rogerthat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    3,117
    GeekBux
    278,452.85
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17


    Default

    What about date magnification, isn't that a tell / issue with the rep vs. gen for all AP ROO reps?

    I switched my black rubberclad to the bracelet and I am not going back.
    I am sorry rubber looks cheap on such a fantastic watch, yes I feel the same way about Hublot.

  7. #7
    Inactive
    miocrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3,086
    GeekBux
    205,628.23
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17
    Country
    barbados
    Region
    se stockholm


    Default

    Very nice review friend! Thanks for posting!
    looking for..
    -ANY Audemars Piguet
    -ANY IWC Aquatimers
    plz PM me
    Hidden Content

  8. #8
    Elite Spartan
    Desuetude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    214
    GeekBux
    11,351.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Default

    Excellent review, can't wait for mine!

  9. #9
    New Member

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    92
    GeekBux
    6,594.86
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    excellent review
    thanks a lot !

  10. #10
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    44
    GeekBux
    2,573.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Thanks!
    Was thinking of safari a few days ago.. But decided to get this after your excellent review!!

  11. #11
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    299
    GeekBux
    34,116.46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Default

    Great review. This is a great watch, i will go for the rubberclad white dial, but maybe i will wait for some time, i hope that they will make improvements or modding to the existing movement since there were a lot of complaints about them.

  12. #12
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase

    rogerthat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    3,117
    GeekBux
    278,452.85
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    17


    Default

    I don't think they will improvement the movement.
    It is what it is. Factor in another $x to get the movement serviced once you get the watch and you will be fine.

  13. #13
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    GDL, MEXICO
    Posts
    697
    GeekBux
    38,745.78
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    mexico


    Default

    wow, nice review dude!! love this AP

  14. #14
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    299
    GeekBux
    34,116.46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rogerthat View Post
    I don't think they will improvement the movement.
    It is what it is. Factor in another $x to get the movement serviced once you get the watch and you will be fine.
    So, i only need to service the movement when it comes?
    You think that this will solve all the flaws on this movement?

  15. #15
    Inactive

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    94
    GeekBux
    4,877.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    great review!

  16. #16
    Elite Spartan

    Awards Showcase


    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2,007
    GeekBux
    121,788.66
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    15


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by luibaka View Post
    So, i only need to service the movement when it comes?
    You think that this will solve all the flaws on this movement?
    The movement was given a full tear down by TheZigmeister on RWG and it was concluded that it is just as reliable as the seconds at three movements (Blackbird etc..

    The main reason for failure was due to dirty movements, so a service would solve this problem.

  17. #17
    Elite Spartan

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    299
    GeekBux
    34,116.46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by b16a2 View Post
    The movement was given a full tear down by TheZigmeister on RWG and it was concluded that it is just as reliable as the seconds at three movements (Blackbird etc..

    The main reason for failure was due to dirty movements, so a service would solve this problem.
    This is a great news.
    Thank you for sharing this info's with us.

  18. #18
    New Member

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    92
    GeekBux
    6,594.86
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    I really love this one but the feedback on the problemswith sec @12 problems got me out of buying one
    I dont know anybody near my town who could service it so i think i m goin to wait till they fix their mechanism
    hopefully one day...

  19. #19
    Removed

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NYC, USA
    Posts
    1,070
    GeekBux
    62,010.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new york


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sixtesat View Post
    I really love this one but the feedback on the problemswith sec @12 problems got me out of buying one
    I dont know anybody near my town who could service it so i think i m goin to wait till they fix their mechanism
    hopefully one day...
    There are a couple watchsmiths on the forum who would be more than happy to have you ship it to them for repair / service.

  20. #20
    New Member

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    92
    GeekBux
    6,594.86
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sweb View Post
    There are a couple watchsmiths on the forum who would be more than happy to have you ship it to them for repair / service.
    If you can point them for me I ll be glad
    I live in europe tho
    nowyou tellin me this I got a makea choice on the model
    they re a few ROO i really really like

  21. #21
    Elite Spartan
    daihlo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8
    GeekBux
    1,076.21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us georgia


    Question

    Any recommendations on who in our repgeek community has a good deal experience with service on this watch?
    thx

  22. #22
    Removed

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    NYC, USA
    Posts
    1,070
    GeekBux
    62,010.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0
    Country
    usa
    Region
    us new york


    Default

    Vacuum does servicing on these watches and also does a graphite treatment.

    Rex will service but cannot or will not do the graphite treatment.

    Costs are roughly $200 for this.

  23. #23
    Member
    flyby75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    143
    GeekBux
    14,552.80
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    11
    Country
    netherlands
    Region
    eu amsterdam


    Default

    Thanks for the review!
    I have the same newest version Rubberclad.
    I must say, that after several Months the rubber is holding up fine.

    I have hold it next to the real deal, and the difference I could tell than, was the difference in colour on the 3 sub dials , more white on the real one, and silver/grey on the rep.
    Also the colour on the numbers were more green on the real one.

    For the rest it looked pretty good

    Enjoy!!

  24. #24
    Bounced Email

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    15
    GeekBux
    841.00
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by flyby75 View Post
    Thanks for the review!
    I have the same newest version Rubberclad.
    I must say, that after several Months the rubber is holding up fine.

    I have hold it next to the real deal, and the difference I could tell than, was the difference in colour on the 3 sub dials , more white on the real one, and silver/grey on the rep.
    Also the colour on the numbers were more green on the real one.

    For the rest it looked pretty good

    Enjoy!!
    Hi flyby75,
    I assumed you bought the rubberclad black face with white subdials? May i ask if you bought it in stainless steel or rubber and how was the quality of either? Could you also point to the site where you bought it as i'm thinking of buying one.
    Thank you.

Similar Threads

  1. Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Offshore ( ROO )Rubberclad
    By davidbr in forum Other Watch Brands
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 07:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



About RepGeek

Replica Geek is a discussion & review forum for all fans of Replica Watches from around the World. Let's Chat About Replica Watches on Replica Geek.

RG Dealers